Texting and Driving Updated.

Published November 28, 2012 by silentlyheardonce
This guy was texting while driving….they found the phone still in his hand.
They found his head in the back seat. Make sure all the young people you know see this.

I saw this on FB I shared it but thought it needs to be seen.  People especially youngsters need to see what the dangers of texting and driving are. The above photo which is now deleted is supposedly a hoax. NowI don’t know what to believe because the following link addresses this photo. She says   “Recently, I’ve been seeing a photograph* of a red car wedged under a wagon circulating. The story attached tells that the man had been texting and they found him beheaded but with mobile still in hand. This photograph and message have been so emotive that I’ve even seen other bloggers posting it to their sites to educate about the dangers of texting while driving. They mean well, but this photograph, of this particular accident, has nothing to do with texting. It’s a real photograph of a real fatal car accident and, actually, the victim is visible in the photograph. The accident occurred in 2005 and that person was a real person – a real person who died when his car hit that wagon.”   Please follow link http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/ The picture clearly showed the the car wedge under a 18 wheeler and I couldn’t see any one visible in the picture. But for argument sakes I’ve taken down the photo and will leave  this message.

Text-ing while driving is DANGEROUS. Just like having sex without a condom. Many of us can multitask but when when doing something that demands our full attention like driving keep your eyes on the road. It’s better to get there safe and alive then to be carried away.

32 comments on “Texting and Driving Updated.

    • LOL!!! My girlfriend and I were skype’ing (that’s video calling) :lol: I know you know that is….don’t you? Her phone rang and she picked it up and it had a cord. I laughed at her to no end. I enjoyed your story about your teacher bringing in the TV to school. I went to catholic school and they had TV’s for some of the classes. The classes were doubled up and we saw the walk on the moon. Then years latter when the space shuttle blew up I was at work. I had one of those little TV’s in my desk to watch my soap opera’s at lunch. My boss came in and told me to plug it up so we could see what happen. I thought of those two things in from your story. Back to today. You can watch TV, movies or listen to music where ever you are. I enjoy the gadgets but they are slowly becoming an enigma to me these days. I have one of those smart phones, they failed to inform us when we purchased it, that you have to be smart.

    • I don’t watch too much TV any more. But I know what you’re saying. I use to put on make-up while driving in the morning and changing my clothes on my way to my second job in the evenings. All while driving. I would be stopped at the lights though. Older and wiser and know it was stupid.

  • I wholeheartedly agree with the heart of the issue and the dangers, the only thing is that this photo isn’t from a case of texting while driving. The man who died, who is visible in that terrible picture, but not clearly due to the colours involved, was a 65 year old man and this crash occurred in 2005 and there is no record of texting having anything to do with it. It is a shocking image, but it’s not fair to this poor man or his relatives to have the image of his death splashed on facebook and other places, claiming that he caused this horrendous accident due to texting, when that is not the case. People should be educated, but not by misleading images. Sorry, I don’t mean to be confrontational, just wanted to let you know that the image is real and is of a real person who died in this tragic accident, but it is not a match for the words: http://www.hoax-slayer.com/corvette-crash-texting.shtml

  • I was almost side swiped by a guy who was (I’m sure) texting… I remember looking at him in my reversing mirror. He kept looking down. I turned my indicator to turn right and hoped he would see me in time. I kept the wheels pointing straight (in case he hit me in the rear) so that he wouldn’t push me into the oncoming traffic (if he did hit me). He screeched on his brakes and swerved missing me (I’m sure) by inches… Darn that was scary; it could have been so bad… Please, please, let’s get it through to people: Texting, phoning, playing silly buggers whilst driving is not only dangerous, it’s stupid…!

  • I see people texting & driving all the time. You can usually spot them from a mile away – swaying – slowing down & speeding up at the oddest times. Bad enough they put themselves in danger – they put others in danger too.

  • Please tell me what you think. If you don't I won't know.

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 2,299 other followers

