Struggle to the Top Poettess

I wrote this poem when I was still fairly young. I called myself the “poettess” back then. Going through my poems to find something to share today I ran across this piece and saw it with fresh eyes. Today I like it and I hope those who visit enjoy it too.

 

She took pain,

as a step up the ladder.

She took happiness,

as a moment of ecstasy.

She cried out love,

as the love she pays for.

She lives in dreams,

as painful as they are.

 

She is a ‘poettess’ with hope.

so….

Cry poet,

it’s your weakness.

Hope poet,

it’s your tomorrow.

Climb high,

don’t look down.

 

Yesterday has passed.

Today is yours.

Live it to its fullest.

 

Give of your power,

write of your mind.

Hold your head high,

there’s happiness to be found.

You lost a piece of your heart.

But gained some understanding.

So keep on moving,

and catch that tomorrow.

 

 

25 thoughts on “Struggle to the Top Poettess

  1. Doubtlessly, your posts are a sign of elegance πŸ™‚
    I loved the ending..

    “You lost a piece of your heart.

    But gained some understanding.

    So keep on moving,

    and catch that tomorrow.”

    Love you Kim πŸ™‚

      1. I will be too glad to share my poems with you, you must be my age when ya wrote that one. You were so elegant back then as well πŸ™‚

        1. Thank you. That was when I was so full of myself. I have some not too nice poems mixed in there. I posted them when I started getting readers and I think they got turned off. I got sick in 2008 and with my illness I got angry, no mad and depressed and my poems were reflecting that.

          1. You know, you are so elegant along with an ever-lasting beauty πŸ™‚
            Your anger must have had some attraction too πŸ™‚

              1. I am not able to access this link 😦
                Get me to the right thread please, i so wanna read πŸ™‚

  2. This is so great! How smart and open you were with your pen even as a girl….I would give anything to have all the poetry I used to write when I was young….they were all lost in a move….:(….so sad!!….I think its fantastic you still have these poems from your childhood….I really liked this one….an inspiring and motivational piece from the mind of a beautiful child….thanks so much for sharing it today…..
    blessings….
    Celeste

    1. I wrote a lot of my poems over and put the best in a binder after typing them up. The ones I thought were the best. I wrote them all in a five subject note book those and all my short stories were also lost my move too. I know exactly how. You feel.

Comments are closed.