My Battle with the Wolf and Butterfly.

I was chased by a wolf

Across a steaming desert

Under the blazing sun

I screamed for help

No one,

no one but me could see

The wolf that was there

Invisible was he

My defense against

Was weak

My cries unheard

He chased me

He was calculating

He was swift

The sun made me flare

I was fatigue

No match for this sneaky wolf

He is a disease without a cure

I found a lovely shade tree

And there I rested

The wolf in the meadow

Frolicking and chasing a butterfly

Such a sweet delicate creature

This purple butterfly

with specs of orange

She landed on the bridge of my nose

As the wolf in the meadow I thought he forgot me

No, he sat there quietly and glared

Pretty butterfly opened her wings

And stained my face

I was branded

By the purple butterfly

With specks of orange

After being bested by the wolf

and teased by a butterfly

Together they won this round

But I am still here to fight

The wolf and butterfly

This is me when life was starting to change. My children have all left the nest and I was starting to live for me.

I was just diagnosed with lupus about 2 weeks before this picture was taking.
This is me hair trying to grow back. Steroids filled in every nook and cranny of my body.
Me a few months ago hair all grown in and only one chin.

I’m the one in the purple tee-shirt.

45 thoughts on “My Battle with the Wolf and Butterfly.

  1. Kim – I’m so grateful that I happened on this piece of your writing to read. I knew you suffered from pain but didn’t know the root cause and now I do. I’m well acquainted with Lupus and you have my total respect. Your poetry is spot on as it relates to your desires to live a life more in keeping with the person you were before lupus came into your life. I also hate what steroids do to the body. So far I’ve been able to avoid them for this go round and am going to do everything possible to stay away from them.

    1. Thank you Sheri. My grandmother use to say. When you turn 40 drop dead. I was a little girl and thought she was crazy. Her pain must have been bad because her fingers became deformed. She could hardly walk. She had osteoporosis. Now at 53 I know what she was saying. Though I want to live no matter how many times I write about giving up. 🙂

  2. Oh, my heart pours out to you through this poem….you are so in tuned to yourself and your senses….you ushered me into this world with you and I saw through your eyes, felt what you felt…..I loved it….exceptionally beautiful…..
    and I do hope that you continue to get better, your health improving with the passing days…..I admire your strength….
    my love and best wishes to you
    Celeste

  3. I never knew what Lupus was until now, it’s more than what I could imagine. You are very brave and inspiring. (hugs)

    1. Thanks very much and thank you for coming by. I happy happy that you are now aware of what lupus is. So many people don’t know and we with lupus want to spread the awareness of this disease.

  4. Morning, Kim! Thanks for sharing some of your journey with us. It’s wonderful to see how you’ve come through the different stages of battling this wolf of a disease. You give many others the hope that they too, can make it through many trials, physical and/or mental. Be Well!

    1. Thank you. That’s my desire to give others hope. I am really blessed. To see where I was almost 4 years ago and where I am now. I’m about to go out and run some errands. I’ll be taking public transportation, I couldn’t do that 4 years ago, It would of been a cab to every stop and cost too much money.

      1. Yes…Reminds us to give thanks daily for even the small things, for they are big triumphs that make everyday living a little bit easier. Your test is truly a testimony. Keep sweet, and stay blessed!

      1. Ah me too – please do not feel obliged to take part, I know it is a lot of work to accept. It’s just nice to be able to put your link up for others to access you 🙂
        (I am somewhat cheating on my awards and only nominating 5 or less people!!)
        Alex

  5. You are such a fighter Kim!!! Beautiful inside out! Poem beautifully epresses your heart out!
    Love,
    -Naima.

Comments are closed.