The Friday Fictioneers

It’s another Friday and another 100 word challenge. Below is the photo prompt and my story. Constructive suggestions and critique are welcomed. Thanks to Madison Woods for running these challenges. It is great writing exercise.
Photo by Susan Wenzel
On my way to work I saw the Atlantic Ocean rolling in from the west and the bay from the east. I ran to the super market, grabbed some staples and found a taxi willing to take me to my family. All the roads were flooded except the one under the elevated train. The driver let me out as close as he could. Holding the packages above the water I waded home. My family was safe, dry and warm. I was wet and tired. By two-thirty the water receded. Seaweed, kelp and shells were the only reminders on the street.

40 thoughts on “The Friday Fictioneers

  1. Took me back to watching the flooding on TV and my prayers that everyone would be alright. It’s such a helpless feeling to know people are suffering and there’s nothing I can do directly. Good job!

  2. Living in Long Beach NY for many years I remember those floods. Never did see shells and kelp when the water receded, only mud. I like your version better.

    1. Well hello neighbor,
      I didn’t see shells on the streets, But the beach that spring had thousands of gray conch shells. If that’s what they were. I wanted to stay in the word frame so the street was where I found the shells for this story. 🙂

    1. Thank you Sandra. It’s based on a true story. I was the one wading in the water. Though we didn’t find the shells on the street there were thousands on the beach. I thought having them left on the street would be more interesting.

  3. That was an interesting thought. I was curious to know if it was based on something that happened (which I see it was from an earlier comment). I was also curious how deep the water was if the family was “safe, dry and warm.” Glad you made it home in one piece!

    1. The water was up to my waist when I was able to get close to home. I was 5’7″ then, now I’m 5’6″. I lived in an apartment building on the fist floor. I guess my apartment was about 20 feet from the ground. The closer I got to the building the lower the water was. The building was on an incline also I think the water was starting to receded when I finally made it home. There was a school totally emerged under water. The news showed footage of a dog on a chain on top of his dog house. He was fine. When walking around the neighborhood you don’t realize the dips in the street and side walks. I was in Far Rockaway, NY it was 1992.
      http://www.hurricanes-blizzards-noreasters.com/1992_nor_easter_photo13.jpg Here are two links I was able to find about it. Thanks for reading, commenting and your curiosity.

  4. I like the ominousness of the sea rising. There’s something almost mystical about waters rising and flooding out over the land. And then it’s gone.

    1. I fixed mind. This is based on an actual event. I walked in that stinky water. But we found the shells on the beach. But for the story and staying in the 100 word requirement I put the shells on the streets. 🙂 I’m happy you liked it.

Comments are closed.