Friday Fictioneer – Power Source

Greetings and Salutations!
I’m submitting another 100 word photo prompt story for Friday Fictioneers
I really enjoy doing these and feel disappointed when life gets in the way of doing what I enjoy. It is a real challenge writing a story with only 100 words. Here’s mine and I’m proud to say it’s exactly 100 words.

image courtesy of Sean Fallon

image courtesy of Sean Fallon

Harold the Hoarder.

 Going through Harold’s stuff has been both sentimental and difficult. The easy part was packing his clothes and shoes. As a hoarder who prescribed to the law that everything has a place and  every place has a thing. Old newspaper clippings filed away chronologically, old 45’s and 33’s boxed separate from the 8 tracks and cassette tapes. Tools to fix the broken things that were never repaired. Books purchased but never read. Everything covered in dust and tucked away in its own place. What’s that? Oh only Harold would save a jar of useless batteries. Boy I miss him.

41 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer – Power Source

  1. dear kim,
    I think we all have some stuff stashed away that our children will wonder about when we’re gone. This was a very good use of the prompt and very well written.

  2. It’s funny what people save. As I read, I could picture my daughters going thru my stuff. I got the sense it was an old friend who had the task… nice story.

  3. I think we all have certain things we can’t get rid of ..even though we know we should…but Harold took it to another level. We can read decades of his life track in the things left behind and a serious collector would salivate over most of it. Well done.

  4. Seeing a bit of myself in Harold, let me jump to his (our) defence and say the batteries are not useless 🙂 you never know when you might need the little power left in some of them 🙂
    Good story, and yes it is nice to be at 100 words. Well done!

  5. Dear Kimberly,
    Thanks for sharing such a tender tale. Loved the references to 45’s, 33’s and 8 tracks…all of which I remember. I love it that you were skillfully up to the 100 word challenge.

  6. When I saw the title, I thought I was reading my own story. 🙂 Great minds and all that. At least was a tidy hoarder!! As someone going through 27 years and 4 people’s worth of things, I can identify quite a lot. Well told.

Comments are closed.