Do we hear the sounds of freedom ring?

I watch history unfold across the screen.
Tears swell in my eyes before staining my cheeks.
On this day, we celebrate the memory
of our great Martin Luther King.
His march and I have a dream speech.

Do we hear the sounds of freedom ring?

America salutes our two term
black commander ……and …..chief.
Have we over come?
I do believe deep in my heart……
Is it easy to forget,
the ugly racist campaign?
Is it easy to believe in the hope,
that we the people, all created equal
black, white and gay,
rich, poor and lost?

Do we hear the sounds of freedom ring?

Listening to the screams of pride,
from the crowd of rainbow faces.
The dreams of the past,
awakes today,
with hope of tomorrow.
Our president
Our first lady
leading the way.
The energy of warm prayers,
saying it loud,
we are one nation,
saying it proud,
I am America the beautiful.

Do we hear the sounds of freedom ring?

Our blood
Our sweat
Our tears
Our indifferences
Fueled by hate
by fear
by ignorance.
The blemishes of our land,
from the highest peaks,
to the lowest valleys .
Through lake, river and seas
our similarities flow.
With each hungry cry,
with every job lost,
with our fallen soldiers,
with our young, our weak and sick all dying.

Do we hear the sounds of freedom ring?

21 thoughts on “Do we hear the sounds of freedom ring?

  1. How absolutely true great way of bringing past to present… I was fortunate enought to be alive to see MLK back in the day but only briefly as they marched here. Wonderful write simi-sis!!

Comments are closed.