Friday Fictioneer ~ Returning Home

It is time to participate in The 100 word photo prompt called the Friday Fictioneer hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple. The challenge is held every Friday. I know I’ve been MIA for a few weeks I’ve been…a…er… Okay living life, don’t we all have one? This week I have a submission. Hope you enjoy. It’s rated “G” unless you have a problem with the word naked.

This week’s PHOTO PROMPT is from Renee Heath.

ff12813

Returning Home

I watch the waves hammer the shore. My tears are lost in the veil of rain, as it smacks my naked body. I’m never ready but the rumbling thunder is calling me. Timidly I step off the boardwalk and follow the wooden path to the shore. My right foot touches the water first, then my left. Immediately my tail and scales begin to return up my waist. The weather clears and no trace that I was ever on land as I swim out to sea and become the dreams of innocent girls and the folklore for drunken sailors.

Use link below to get rules and regulations:

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/25-january-2013/

47 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer ~ Returning Home

  1. An unexpected story! I like the phrase “the dreams of innocent girls and the folklore for drunken sailors”. But what really intrigues me is this: why is she crying?

  2. love a good mermaid story. at first – because of the “innocent girls,” i thought it was a mer-man. then i realized that the innocent girls are dreaming of ariel and the little mermaid kind of thing. well done.

  3. Glad to see you’re back! I like the mermaid here, and how you weave that in without saying it outright. If I could critique one thing, there are a couple of uncomfortable repetitions – “return” twice in the metamorphosis sentence, and “the” in the final sentence. Those are my two favourite sentences other than that, though!

  4. I had no idea where this was going when I started reading. I love your summing up of mermaids as, ‘the dreams of innocent girls and the folklore for the drunken sailors.’ Lovely.

Comments are closed.