Friday Fictioneer ~ The Gift

The time has come to for another round of Friday Fictioneers  Hosted by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple. A bunch of us bloggers write 100 word stories on what our imaginations come up with for the photo prompt.

This weeks photo is share by –David Stewart   at  The Green Walled Tower

I don’t get a chance to do it every week but trust me they are fun to do. Please join us at Friday Fictioneers

ff2142013photo

My story this week is ‘The Gift’ rate G and is exactly 100 words.

She’s in her faded housecoat, a rag tied on her head.  A pot of meatless beans is simmering on the stove.  Her foolish, unemployed man is in the pub as usual.

“I finished, please my dear.” He pleads, “come.”

She turns off the pot, wipes her hands and hangs her apron on a hook.

“Okay,” she sighs.

He pulls her through the crowd that has gathered in the square.

“Why did you bring me to see this junk?”

“I made it for you.” He says.  “Happy Valentine’s Day.” Then hand her a check from the Chamber of Commerce.  She faints.

lin for ff

41 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer ~ The Gift

  1. I hope you’re not offended if I say “what a nice story.” It’s a story that makes me feel good after feeling her down-trodden spirit and that he will perhaps make more of an effort now. It seems to me that he loves her and I’m happy she went with him and didn’t just tell him to take a hike.

    Hope you’re having a happy Valentine’s Day,

    janet

    1. Thanks. She does love him and wants him to do the right thing. He’s always messing up. I wanted to portray him having a big payday that’s why she fainted.

      I hope your Valentine’s day is good too.

Comments are closed.