The Inheritance ~ Friday Fictioneer

Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff Fields at Addicted to Purple for hosting another week of the Addicting Friday Fictioneer. It is a where a bunch of us ink junkies use our talents to create a 100 word story using a photo prompt. Below is the photo and my story this week. Come try it out.

Photo Credit Janet Webb
Photo Credit Janet Webb

I usually keep my stories at exactly 100 words.

The Inheritance

Mattie once turned a warehouse into an upscale living space. Converting this barn into a dream home will be easy. She plans to build her inheritance into a utopia that would do her ancestor proud.

She‘ll replace the wood with glass panels. She’ll trim the shrubs into lawn sculptures. Then create a rose garden, gazebo and a Koi pond.

Mattie was lost in thought when startled by a bang and the rattling of chains. “Leave my barn,” a voice yelled. “It’s been my haunting place since I was whipped to death for teaching slaves to read three hundred years ago.”

lin for ff

67 thoughts on “The Inheritance ~ Friday Fictioneer

  1. Nice payoff, sounds like she’ll have a struggle on her hands, but the ghost might be reasonable. Think she’ll need to look for some flayed bones…then perhaps she can make a tidy profit or her dream home at last! Liked the description leading up to the reveal, too. The ghost is a bit wordy on his introduction, but it effectively gets the point to us that he might not be such a violent spirit after all. Let’s hope 🙂 nice job!

  2. Ghosts can be a tricky thing. Each one is different. But Russell makes a very good point, people will pay good money to stay in haunted hotels. The one down here in San Diego has a one year waiting list for the room with the most noted haunted occurrences. Personally, I lean towards helping them move on to the light if it’s at all possible. He sounds like an intelligent spectral, rather than a time imprint, so it may be possible..

    1. I think so. Mattie was a city girl. The property was in the family for hundreds of years and she was the last living relative. She saw it as an investment property. Hummm……sounds like I can make more of this FF this week. 🙂

  3. Very nice twist at the end. The ghost has braggin rights and claim to the spot. I noticed your inlinkz total to be 70, but on mine it only shows 40 some additions this week. I am not sure why the difference.

  4. Dear Kim,
    Love what you’ve done with your blog…so purple-y ;). That barn’s a fixer upper with a back story. I agree…she should proceed and make friends with the ghost. He has a great story to tell. .
    shalom,
    Rochelle

    1. Yes that is an option. Becoming friends with the ghost and sharing where we are today. BTW I’m a lover of purple too. February born and my Aunt use to tell me I looked good in purple when I was a child. Funny I prefer to wear brown, beige and black. It’s and old school NY thing.

  5. he seems like a nice guy, for teaching slaves to read.. maybe Mattie can reason with him.. help him move towards the light, THEN she can fix the place and do what she wants with it 🙂 great story

  6. That’s a problem not often experienced by decorators and architects!! I agree with putting the place quietly on the market and hoping the ghost stays quiet during any viewings! 🙂

    janet

Comments are closed.