Friday Fictioneer~ A Big Favor and The Proposal

Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff -Fields at Addicted to Purple for hosting another week of the Addicting Friday Fictioneer. It is a where a bunch of us ink junkies use our talents to create a 100 word story using a photo prompt. Below is the photo and my story this week. Come try it out.

I wrote two stories this week. When I saw the photo on my Kindle I thought it was an unusual ugly lamp.  Then I saw it on the desk top and didn’t think my first story worked with the photo prompt.  I wrote a second story but read over the first and made a little revisions and it worked too.  So I’m adding two stories this week.  Both are  exactly 100 words each. Critiques are always welcomed.

copyright - Jennifer Pendergast
copyright – Jennifer Pendergast

The proposal

This is the first story  rated G

After a two year courtship Marsha is confident Sam is meeting her in this beautiful hotel under the spiral stair case to ask her to be his bride.  The wedding reception  going on up stairs adds the right touch.

Sam arrives a wearing a white tuxedo with a red rose in the breast pocket.

Marsha feels under dressed.

Sam takes Marsha’s hand.  He looks in her eyes, she smiles. “I don’t know how to tell you this. I’m embarrassed that I didn’t do this earlier.” He says

“What is it?”

“I got married this morning and we’re celebrating upstairs.”

{In the ordinal ‘the spiral staircase’ was ‘the ugly lamp’}

A Big Favor

This is the second story rated PG13

“I really have to give up these Marlboro’s, the habit is taking a toll. I can’t believe Stacy lives in a building without an elevator. Hell I can’t believe I promised to feed her cat while she’s on vacation.

These spiral steps are making me dizzy. I’m going to rest here on the second floor before tackling the next three flights.

I don’t think I can’t do this for a week. I’m taking Kitty home with me. Bill will have to understand.

Whew! I finally made it.

Now where are those darn keys? Oh shhh….it! They’re in the car.”

I also did another story with Alastair you can click on this link to read A Collaboration

76 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer~ A Big Favor and The Proposal

  1. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: silentlyheardonce.wordpress.com/2013/03/07/friday-fictioneer-a-big-favor-and-the-proposal/ […]…

  2. If you read girlie magazines, their “7 signs he’s about to propose” and very similar to their “7 signs he’s having an affair” articles – your first story made me think of that! As for the second, all I can think is poor kitty!

  3. that first story..ouch! wonder if she murdered him then and there… and that second story, screw kitty.. i’m not climbing THAT twice lol 🙂

  4. Awesome. The ending of the first one made me laugh, although D’OH! It seems they weren’t too close after all, if he could get engaged and married without her even knowing, unless it was a rush job.

    1. 😆 greed such as us writers. My muse was MIA for almost two weeks. I didn’t think I was going to get one story. I’m glad you got a chuckle out of the first one. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  5. Dear Kim,

    I enjoyed both stories, though the first made me want to push the guy down those very stairs. The second one…well, we’ve all done that, haven’t we? Good work.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  6. I enjoyed them both, Kim. In the first one, the guy sure drug her on (I don’t know why I didn’t tell you sooner). Can’t say I’d climb those stair to feed a cat either, and I don’t even smoke.

  7. My reaction to the first was WTF, and to the second I though Hell No lol…love love love them both. And I enjoyed your collaboration with Alastair.

  8. Oh the 1st one – so sad. So, so heartbreaking. Dare I say – what an ars…
    The 2nd – LOL 😆
    Both get two thumbs up!

    Both great. Now heading to check out the one that you & Alastair worked on together!

  9. Can you imagine that? (The first one, I’m talking about.) How do you come back from that???? And the second one, well, that cat is definitely coming back with the sitter. Nice takes – well done.

  10. Oh I liked both, the first one hit me like any person that was expecting a happier ending and it worked because you never saw it coming.

    the second, who hasn’t that happened to? You get half way up and DAMN IT…the thing I need is half way DOWN. Great wording for it !

  11. I think I like the first one best, and the immediacy of the present tense works well with it. I did get confused for a minute, but I think the only thing that tripped me up is in the second sentence I think the word ‘is’ might be extra, and it might read more smoothly without.

  12. That first one … YOWCH! You can feel the kick to her stomach

    The second one … hahahaha. He could always slide on the banister going down 😉

    1. It’s better then getting jilted at the alter I think. Sliding down might work but she still has to walk back up.

      I’m about to read yours. I don’t like to read anyone’s submissions until I’ve completed mine. I don’t want to be influenced.

              1. I’ll never deny being crazy hehe

                I think maybe it would make a good ride for kids as well. A bit like a water slide at the pool except without the water. Damn, that would have been a good story 😉

Comments are closed.