Friday Fictioneers ~ Things Ain’t What They Seem

Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff -Fields at Addicted to Purple for hosting another week of the Addicting Friday Fictioneer 

It is addicting I tell you.  I’m so busy this week. I wasn’t going to participate this week.  I couldn’t resist.  Thanks Sandra Cook for  contributing the photo prompt. I hope to read everyone’s work sometime over the weekend.

Copyright - Sandra Crook
Copyright – Sandra Crook

Things Ain’t What They Seem – 100 words

Every time we passed by that house they turned into a diner Charlie would say, “I want to go in.” I knew he wanted to go to get a closer look at the three wheel chopper someone put together with old parts. Adding to the lure were the motorcycles and people in leather clothes that hang in the parking lot.
He was so excited when I pulled in today. When we stepped inside Charlie’s jaw dropped and I smiled. Chopin was playing and all those bad ass bikers were sipping tea with their pinkies pointing out and nibbling tea biscuits.

59 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers ~ Things Ain’t What They Seem

  1. Great ending! I’m left wondering if it’s a sci-fi twist where they stepped into an alternate reality, or if there is something more mundane going on… like bikers that simply have a unique lifestyle. Either way, very exciting to be surprised at the end!

  2. A nice change of expectation tale, the juxtaposition plays against stereotype, good stuff.
    Just one small point. You may want to look at the sentence that could imply that the leather clothes are hanging in the parking lot and substitute something like – ‘leather clad characters hanging about in the parking lot?’
    Thanks for the tale!
    Nick

  3. A delightful story. The twist hit me so…I could not stop laughing. Well, gosh darn it…I guess I really needed those chuckles because I feel better now. Thks for visiting me.

  4. Very different; very good! My son-in-law is a biker – leather jacket, leather pants, the works. He loves Chopin (and his half-brother Peter Pan). 🙂

  5. There is a town not to far from me, where I can actually see this happening. I really enjoyed this read. Thanks for your visit.
    I have fun writing and sometimes I guess it shows? 😉
    I came looking for this story and popped in at APF too. I got a two fer! Cheers

  6. Oh, Kim; this is way too cute…! I love it…
    Chopin, bad ass bikers, sipping tea, pinkies pointing and nibbling tea biscuits.
    What a great last line… Very funny… 🙂

  7. I love that its an unlikely bunch of sophisticated people that you depicted 🙂 I need not repeat the observations of others, so well done I enjoyed reading your work.

  8. Hehe. I LIKE it! You got me expecting things were going in one direction, and you took a different one. Good stuff. If I saw such a thing for real I’d have to step out of the building to hide my guffaws.

  9. Lots of fun, Kim, and an excellent twist. Good suggestions on the “passed pass” (which I imagine started life as “passed past”). “Passed by”, just “passed”, “drove past”…lots of choices. And then “Adding to the lure were…” to keep in the same tense.

    On our way to Wyoming each August, we see thousands of bikers going to and from Sturgis for the big rally. We’ve seen them in all sorts of places you might not expect to see them, so I’ll keep an eye out for this tea house this summer. 🙂

    janet

    1. thanks for the hint about the lure. I over looked the “pass’. I kept reworking that first line so I had it right in my head and didn’t notice I didn’t fix it. Human 🙂 Yes look out for this diner on your trip. 🙂

  10. Oh I love that!!! A brilliant twist. Better than any horror twist. I can just picture it. With them crocheting and sewing as well 😀

    Brilliant, Kim

  11. Dear Kim,
    Chopin? Smart bikers with class. Cute story with surprise ending. However, your first sentence “passed pass?” I think you might want to delete “pass”.
    I know about busy. I’m only ahead of the game on reading stories this week because our numbers are down and I’m on vacation.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

    1. Chopin is my favorite I can listen to him all day. But I don’t picture bikers listening to him. That first line I cut and pasted trying to get it right and still I missed something. Thanks for reading Rochell.

Comments are closed.