2014 Affirmation/Mission Statement

Picture 33

I don’t make resolutions. To me it’s stupid, I mean you’re either going to do something or you don’t. Who cares if you start January 1st or June 1st. Exactly! Who cares besides you. I read somewhere this past year about making a mission statement it sounds like a good idea. I’m a writer, I may not be published in some known venue but none the less I am a writer.

If the person who wrote about personal mission statements read this let me know I will give you credit and link back to you.

I think I should have a mission statement. So I’ve been thinking.

When I was young, raising children and working nine to five, sometimes another four hours in the evening and sixteen more on weekends I wrote all the time. Somehow or another I always found time and energy to devote to my craft. I wrote inside match books, napkins even on  newspapers. I spent my time dreaming of when I will be able to spend all my time  writing.

Now that I have the time, I don’t have the concentration or the drive I had when I was younger. When I was younger I was confidant in my talent, my imagination even surprised me. I often feel that my talent isn’t adequate enough and I’m wasting my time. It’s something I love so I’m really not wasting my time.

I don’t know what has me in  this idle gear. Maybe  I  lived and saw too much of life. My world was filled with hurt, disappointment and regret that I seem to lack the imagination to create a fiction world when my own life was so colorful. However all that I have experienced spills out in my poetry.

I  haven’t been focused in  my fiction world. My novel is good, not great. I believe it can be great if I feed myself the confidence I need to bite into the story, devour it then regurgitate a best seller. So I am making an affirmation to complete my novel by any means this coming year.

My Mission Statement

I will stay focus on completing my novel.

I will put writing ahead of everything except God and family.

Writing will be my priority.

I will continue to tweak my craft.

I will not be distracted.

I will not be concerned with what anyone thinks of my work.

I will write for myself.

28 thoughts on “2014 Affirmation/Mission Statement

  1. A wonderful mission statement. I like it very much. Just excellent. Happy new year, Silent Kim, & good luck to your novel 🙂

  2. That’s excellent. I like that ‘mission statement’ idea, rather than resolutions. It’s so much more powerful and affirming. I think that you are a great writer, a truly great writer and it’s not because it’s what you do, I believe that it’s who you are, what you are.
    So having been given a gift of an idea by you I say that my mission statement for 2014 is to get closer to Jesus and with his help become completely ‘compassionate’ towards all living things at all times. (I’m going to write and I’ve got to bring more money for my family, but I think that’s less important than becoming a true disciple of my master Jesus).
    Anyway Jesus bless you and yours Kim and it might make you feel good to know that yours is one of just two that I subscribe to after having subscribed to many last year and ultimately unsubscribed from many of them as reading them became a chore. You and Allan Douglas, two very good writers in a very different ways, are the only two blogs which I feel always have something worthwhile to say about life and humanity. Happy New Year Kim and I have every expectation that one day you will be a very highly regarded writer, both in the USA and around the world.

    1. Richard I am always humbled by your complaints. Not being modest, but I believe you see more in me than I see in myself. I am extremely honored by your words.

      I can’t take credit for the mission statement idea. But is something we can all do. Just as yours is to become closer to Jesus which is a beautiful goal.

      Thank you for your confidence. Wishing you and your fàmily a happy, healthy and blessed New Year.

  3. I have been writing since 1971 and always did it a lot! I never really shared it until 2010! I was never led within to do so until then. We all are moved differently but I will say, you are talented and spiritually sometimes we need a rest, and a spiritual rest for your heart, mind, and spirit is different from a worldly rest….it is a true and pure, renewal, revival and blossoming. I can see that ahead in the new year. I have the utmost confidence in you my sister that you will accomplish all you set out to do this year! God bless! And happy new year to you and your family!

  4. I have met so very many writers. Some are very good. Some are cringingly horrible. If you follow that mission statement and believe in yourself, you will fall on the good side of the tennis court of writerly life. (Now there’s a cringing metaphor!) You have my word on it as a writing teacher. Writers write, and no one can stop them if they don’t stop themselves.

  5. First – let me start by saying – YOU look Mahvelous! 🙂
    I’m not into making NY resolutions either.
    Best to you in 2014 & best to you on your mission for the year.
    You can do it & you will!
    {Hugs}

Comments are closed.