Friday Fictioneer ~ The Magic Stone

It has been a while since I wrote for the Friday Fictioneer’s. I peeked every week at the pictures but time didn’t allow me to come up with a story. This week I have a story.For those who have heard Friday fictioneeer is an addictive writing challenge.  Thanks to our host Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple provides us with a new photo to work with every Wednesday and we have until Friday to come up with an original 100 word story. It is an excellent way to fine tune your editing craft.  But it’s okay if you go over or below the word count a little.  I guess it’s okay as long as you’re not submitting War and Peace.

This week Rochelle is using her daughter-in-law’s picture of their tree climbing dog and Rochelle’s cute little granddaughter.  At the end of my story there’s a link that will connect you with the story other bloggers shared.

tree-climbing-poppy

100 Words

The Magic Stone

The merchant Sparky brought the magic stone from said we had only one wish. We could have anything. Anything, Sparky thought.

Laughing hysterically Beverly snatched the stone and said, “I wish my husband was a dog.”

Then just like that I have four legs, fur and a nagging urge to lick between my legs. After seeing the shock on Beverly’s face I ran from the house and up this tree to see if I could find out which way the wandering merchant walked. “Come down. Dogs don’t climb trees.” My daughter yelled.  I wonder if she knows I’m her father.

http://new.inlinkz.com/luwpview.php?id=356142

Oh yes Everyone Have a Happy 2014

58 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer ~ The Magic Stone

  1. Nice twist on a familiar motif. I think the moral of all these ‘three wishes’ tales (just one, in your case) is that you should walk away from the opportunity! Believe it or not, I played the female lead many years ago in a play with a similar script. The male lead – a keen amateur magician – had bought a wand which turned out to have belonged to Merlin! It was pandemonium! Anyway, I enjoyed your twist in the tail – oops! – tale. Ann

      1. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve had other FF notice something I missed. This week, my son pointed out a word I’d used 2x.. arrgh. After other had read it. :-p Reading is the other part that makes FF so addictive!

      2. I know. I’ve been away for a while got sloppy. I could always count on Janet and Rochelle picking up on something. Madison did too when she hosted. Made you kind of go over and over especially when you try to get that perfect 100 word count. Just so everyone got your story on the first read. Its hard to edit our own work. 🙂

  2. I enjoyed your tale. There’s no telling what my wife would turn me into. 🙂

    I’m reminded of the story about the woman who was buying dog food to feed her husband. The clerk at the store said, “Oh, no. Aren’t you afraid that will kill him.” A few weeks later the woman related to the clerk that her husband had died. “I told you that dog food would kill him,” said that clerk.
    “That wasn’t what killed him,” said the woman. “He was lying in the street licking himself and got hit by a truck.”

  3. Oh silly wife, what have you done! I hope they can buy another stone, and that if they do Beverly will use it to change her husband back rather than changing her daughter into a giraffe or something 🙂

  4. I’m betting if they ever catch the merchant, that the second magic stone will suddenly be very expensive.

    (BTW you seem to have a lot of formatting code at the start of your story)

  5. Nice story – good to hear from you again. (All that stuff at the top of the story usually happens to me when I’ve created my story in Verdana font. It only appears when I save the post so I have to go back to edit it out.)

  6. Ha – because in some case – who can tell the difference between some men & dogs…
    (I guess the same could be said about women too. But – that’s not what this story is about – is it? LOL 😉 )

  7. I enjoyed the story and the twist, but I found the first paragraph confusing. It sounds as thought Sparky is a dog and got the stone from a merchant, but then as I read on, it sounded as though Sparky is the dog the husband became, or else two dogs ran up the tree. I think you could re-write it to make it clearer and still keep the fun in the story.

    janet

  8. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

Comments are closed.