Friday Fictioneer ~ Bumpy Road

Copyright - Erin Leary
Copyright – Erin Leary

She traveled her days on a long, bumpy road

carrying the burdens of a heavy load

she smiles the memories of her yesteryears,

living her life without the shackles of fear

tides of her past, warms her heart from the cold,

leaving her soft, misty, grey clouds to behold

deep as the raging ocean, are her sorrows

rolling waves of the sea bring hopes of  tomorrow

every sunrise, is a new gift of living

a divine blessing she’s been given

another day to walk that old and bumpy road

and find a place to lay down her heavy load

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria 01/15/2014

Link to other stories HERE

It’s time for Friday Fictioneer’s and it’s another week that I am sharing my interpretation for the above photo prompt. For those who haven’t heard Friday fictioneeer is an addictive writing challenge.  Thanks to our host Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple   who provides us with a new photo to work with every Wednesday  until Friday to come up with an original 100 word story. It is an excellent way to fine tune your editing craft.  But it’s okay if you go over or below the word count a little.  I guess it’s okay as long as you’re not submitting War and Peace. I find it challenging to work my story, this week poem down or up until I have exactly 100 words.

  At the end of my story there’s a link that will connect you with the story other bloggers shared. Please visit the link above for complete rules.  Constructive criticism welcome. to read more click on the link below.

64 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer ~ Bumpy Road

  1. I like how this flowed. The words flowed just like on a journey, the journey she was on. Well written. Strong.

  2. I really liked this…it’s beautifully written with tenderness and sensitivity. I’ve noticed you “liking” some of my posts and came to check you out and find that you are a contributor to the Flash Fictioneers. I posted something for the first time today. I’ve done flash fiction before…I really enjoy the challenge. I found the prompt through Bjorn Rudberg’s blog. What a coincidence.

    1. Thanks for reading. The WP circle is really less than 7 degrees of seperation. 🙂 I started doing the Friady Fictioneers back when Madison Wood hosted. That’s when I meet Bjorn. I took. Few months away from blotting and took a little longer to participate in FF again. It is a great exercise to help sharpen our editing skills. Nice to met you.

      1. I know exactly what you mean. 🙂 I’ve been away from my blog for quite a few months myself and find that these short forms can be a good exercise in sparking creativity too. It was nice to join in…and thanks for the kind welcome…I appreciate that. Nice to meet you too.

Comments are closed.