Friday Fictioneer ~ Insurance Money

Copyright - Björn Rudberg
Copyright – Björn Rudberg

A cool breeze reaches up and kisses the perspiration from their brow and as they take a rest from their hike. A secluded area with all the privacy they want. “Come honey let’s look over the cliff.” Maryanne says. Sean drops his backpack and joins her at the edge. “Oh you can’t see from there come closer.”

“What’s down there?” Sean asks

“I see a mama bear and her cubs.”

Sean puts one foot on the edge and carefully pushes his body out to see down the cliff. “Where?” He asks.

Maryanne pushes. “There!” She smiles a smile of satisfaction.

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria 01/22/14

Link to other stories HERE

It’s time for Friday Fictioneer’s and it’s another week that I am sharing my interpretation for the above photo prompt. For those who haven’t heard Friday fictioneeer is an addictive writing challenge.  Thanks to our host Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple   who provides us with a new photo to work with every Wednesday  until Friday to come up with an original 100 word story. It is an excellent way to fine tune your editing craft.  But it’s okay if you go over or below the word count a little.  I guess it’s okay as long as you’re not submitting War and Peace. I find it challenging to work my story, this week poem down or up until I have exactly 100 words.

  At the end of my story there’s a link that will connect you with the story other bloggers shared. Please visit the link above for complete rules.  Constructive criticism welcome. to read more click on the link below.

89 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer ~ Insurance Money

  1. I was thinking already that I wouldn’t lean out because my brother would have shoved me too. 🙂

  2. I cracked when I read the title after reading the story. I totally enjoyed it!
    Your tense changes at ‘dropped,’ though. ^_^

  3. Reminds me of that horrible story in the news of the new bride, who (allegedly) pushed her new groom over the ledge. Creepy… the way she woos him with bear cubs. Ugh. First line, I think you left of a “d” on secludeD. Totally creepy story, Kim, with a totally evil wife. 🙂

  4. Did you every see “Chicago” – the musical? I’m sure he had it coming. Good story and I bet he has a new insurance policy with her as the sole beneficiary. Delightfully wicked! Nan

  5. She certainly took advantage of the moment, Kim, although not in a very loving way. Maybe he should have guessed when she asked him to up the insurance. 🙂 Right here, ” seclude area”, you’re missing a “d” on “secluded.”

    janet

  6. Oh dear, I like this TOO much!! And unfortunately, though I was watching a true-crime story last night on this very subject, I still like it–the bad, murderous husband got his justice, so I’m happy.

  7. Sounds like something that’s been in the news about newlyweds. The bride of a few days allegedly pushed her husband over a cliff. Not sure what the outcome was. You might have put your finger on it with this monied tale. Good one.

  8. that’s one heck of a way to break up with someone 🙂 oh well, maybe he deserved it.. oddly enough, i liked maryanne and how she said “there!” 🙂

  9. There must be something about this picture that makes people want to push others down the mountain. I did something along the same lines. Great story! 😀

Comments are closed.