Friday Fictioneer ~ They’re Afraid of the Light

Copyright - Dawn M. Miller
Copyright – Dawn M. Miller

They’re Afraid of the Light

Marsha says she’s not scared of the dark but every night she turns every blasted lamp on. You try to sleeping in a stadium. When her mama was alive she kept the lights on too. But tonight I ought to get a good night sleep being that she hosed the lamps down out on the porch and some neighborhood kids threw rocks shattering them all.

I woke from a deep sleep to Marsha’s mama saying. “This here is your great-uncle Howard. This is his father and this is your great, great, great grandma. And this is your . . .

Link to other stories HERE

It’s time for Friday Fictioneer’s and it’s another week that I am sharing my interpretation for the above photo prompt. For those who haven’t heard Friday fictioneeer is an addictive writing challenge.  Thanks to our host Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple   who provides us with a new photo to work with every Wednesday to interpret with a 100 word story. It is an excellent way to fine tune your editing craft.  But it’s okay if you go over or below the word count a little.  I guess it’s okay as long as you’re not submitting War and Peace. I find it challenging to work my story  down or up until I have exactly 100 words.

 

69 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer ~ They’re Afraid of the Light

  1. you captured the eeriness of sleeping without lights for some people…just in case of creepy things coming around. eek! i enjoyed your story. ☺

  2. A lot of folks are scared of the dark. Evidently, ghosts are scared of the light, or perhaps they just don’t feel comfortable in that environment. Sounds like the whole family is coming back for a haunting reunion.

  3. Ah, I see what happened there! Good take, but why would the mother be so afraid of letting the ghosts back? Unless that’s why the story broke off!
    Also, as part of my curse as English tutor, I noticed some hiccups. “You try to sleeping in a stadium” shouldn’t have “to” in it (though it is great imagery!). The line about the kids breaking the lamps could use a little reworking or a comma.
    It’s an awesome piece, though! Thank you for posting!

  4. I enjoyed this. You are right; they are broken in both of our stories. I would be interested, if you have the interest and the time, to go to my blog, go to Carolyn’s page (on the left) and at the bottom read the 7 parts of the story I have written so far. There will only be 8 or 9 and I add them on Tuesday night. I am going to try and publish it when all done.
    Scott

    1. I will try to read them as time permits. I have a few projects I’m working on. I have this loyalty thing going on. I read the emails of most of the people I follow and I try not to fall behind. At the same time I’m trying to get my own writing done.

  5. I need to sleep in the dark – except sometimes I take a nap in the afternoon – that doesn’t bother me in the least. What I need to do is get one of those black masks for the light. By the way, well done!

  6. Looks like it’s time to get some new lamps quick – I’m sure sleeping with the light on is better than getting woken up by ghosts every night!

  7. No lights for me please. And – any kid that requires a night-light is a no to sleep-overs. I find them distracting. Glad my kids didn’t go through that stage.
    Your description of the lights on was so vivid – it prompted me to throw in a complaint – LOL 😉

  8. Dear Kim,

    It took me a couple of reads to get the whole story. It was worth the effort. I love the analogy of sleeping in a stadium. Dare I say brilliant?

    Not only is it time to replace the lights, I’m thinking, perhaps, it’s time to move.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. I bet they are going right out to scour the garage sales for replacements. Or else there will be many sleepless night ahead.However I suspect the ghost is there even with the lights on. And nothing will help now. Great creepy tale.

  10. I have a nightlight, but too much and well that would defeat the purpose of sleep. Please remind me never to break a lamp. haha! Good one Kim.

Comments are closed.