Friday Fictioneer ~ Art Sting

janet-webbs-sangria

Art Sting

I found these paintings in the East Village loft I’m renting. Charlotte  convinced me to sell them as the early works of Andy Warhol.

We had a cash only art show and made over a hundred thousand dollars.

As we were closing up the shop an elderly woman comes in and says with a toothless smile, “Thank you for selling Andy’s paintings for me I’ll take my money now.”

A nervous Charlotte was about to hand over the money.

“Wait a minute,” I say, ” Andy didn’t have a wife, he was gay.”

“Give me half and I’ll keep quiet.”

Link to other stories Here

It’s time for Friday Fictioneer’s and it’s another week that I am sharing my interpretation for the above photo prompt. For those who haven’t heard Friday fictioneeer is an addictive writing challenge.  Thanks to our host Rochelle Wisoff-Fields of Addicted to Purple   who provides us with a new photo to work with every Wednesday to interpret with a 100 word story. This weeks Photo comes from Janet at This, That and the Other It is an excellent way to fine tune your editing craft.  But it’s okay if you go over or below the word count a little.  I guess it’s okay as long as you’re not submitting War and Peace. I find it challenging to work my story  down or up until I have exactly 100 words.

62 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer ~ Art Sting

  1. Great and clever little operation they had going. Too bad, ‘Little Old Lady Hag’ had to ruin their scheme but at least Carolyn had enough sense to remember he was gay. Good story! Thanks for the smart read! Nan

  2. Good artsy story. Our local art museum, Crystal Bridges, just bought a Warhol painting of a soup can for $57 million. This was a very fun story and some of the best purple prose I’ve read in a while. Ron

    1. I know I think of the fortune my family threw away. Old comic books, baseball cards, first edition toys and old lunchboxes, records to name a few. You never know what will be worth a few dollars in the future.

  3. Ha!ha!Love the old lady’s turning the tables on them-a real one-upmanship and she sure drives a hard bargain;-)Very cool take on the prompt-loved it:-)

  4. Just a tiny thing, but the sentence here “Charlotte was convinces me to sell them “, shouldn’t that read ‘Charlotte has convinced me to sell them’. Just wondering if it’s me. haha! Otherwise a very good story Kim. 🙂

Comments are closed.