Idolize Me Damnit ~ Teen Age Idol

Google Image
Google Image

Teen Age Idol
Who did you idolize as a teenager? Did you go crazy for the Beatles? Ga-ga over Duran Duran? In love with Justin Bieber? Did you think Elvis was the livin’ end?

I guess it’s my catholic upbringing that I never idolized anyone. You know with Moses coming down and finding the people worshiping golden cows.

Early on I knew people are people. Putting one on a pedestal only succeeds in making them believe they are worthy of worship. Who is screwing who makes the front page of the newspaper. While Russia and the Ukraine having a spat is buried on page five and six. Or that South Korea is test nuclear bombs is a blurb just before the funnies.

Entertainers aren’t immortals. I admire many entertainers, activists and politicians. But idolize never.

I was and still am a fan many different entertainers for the performances they give which is doing their jobs. I admire them for doing different acts of humanitarianism. However I don’t idolize.

We the public are greedy for gossip and want to know all the juicy and dirty secrets about those who choose professions as public figures. Why is it so important to chase these people to snap pictures and spread rumors? Is that more important than people struggling to put food on their table and pay their rent? Why do we feel it necessary to purchase designer clothes, shoes and handbags we can’t afford? It is sad that we live in a time where we value material items over human life. People are killed over sneakers, cell phones and pieces of clothing. All because they want to be like Rhianna, Beyonce, Jay-Z, Chris Brown or whoever is hot this week.

Guess what?! The only thing those moguls and entertainers care about are the sales of their products. While you’re trying to get what they got they are depending on you to keep them sitting pretty on their yachts, in their Bentley’s and adorn in platinum jewels. They need you to purchase their products, be it their clothing lines, perfumes or to buy over priced tickets for their shows. Hell they don’t even manufacture their products in your country so you can have a job. So I’ll say it again they need you to support them.

Me? Idolize never! Hell they should be idolizing us! I’ll hop off my soapbox now. Oh was this prompt suppose to be fun?

16 thoughts on “Idolize Me Damnit ~ Teen Age Idol

  1. Agreed! Imagine if we stopped caring about the material things, other than the basic needs for food, shelter and clothing. And some travel, seeing the world is amazing. But all the hype and labels made in other countries as you say cause us to lose a part of reality. It’s like living in a movie instead of on Earth. Great one Kim, keep up the soap box! XO Sheri

  2. I’m a fan of…
    But – idolize – I’m with you.
    And – as someone I look up to – hmmm… a humble old man – I call Apa’ 😉

  3. I never idolized anyone either, not because of religious reasons, just because I always knew they are people, with faults just like me, usually worse faults, so what’s to idolize? Like you said, they are/were doing their jobs. Period.

Comments are closed.