I Believe Because of Faith ~ Reason to Believe

Google Image
Google Image

Reason to Believe
In Reason to Believe,, Bruce Springsteen sings, At the end of every hard-earned day / people find some reason to believe. What’s your reason to believe?

 

There was a constant slapping on my window as I fell asleep. The long winter that threatened to stay forever was washed away with the torrential rains that poured and flooded everywhere. This morning the sun forced its way through my window. The buds on the trees opened and the grass  sprouted tall and green. The birds chattered and frolicked in the water that gathered on the patio furniture and the squirrels chased each other around the tree. It’s a new morning, a new day with new possibilities. May first and spring may have finally arrived.

 
Lovers meet, marry and procreate. In class teachers teach and the children learn. Sick people visit doctors, whose hands heal. Disputes happen, violence erupts, guns fire, someone is shot in the head or inches from the heart and they survive. Is it luck? Is it the skill of the doctor? Was it a miracle maybe?

 
The couple who meet raised their child who was taught and became the doctor who heals. Was it predestined that he would save the life of those who weren’t supposed to survive?

 
The sun rises in the east sets in the west no matter where in the world you are. The moon is shadowed by the earth and can be seen throughout our planet. The water is clear but when the sky is blue so is the ocean. My blood is red and so is yours. If mine matches yours I can save your life and it doesn’t matter if our appearances, language or beliefs are different. We are human with the same needs. We all exist in this vast universe with many mysteries that we will never know the answer to.

 
Today’s prompt “Reason to Believe”. What other reason other than I Am. You are and together we are one in connection to all that is. Is there any other reason to believe in divinity? Are we in charge? Do we make the sun rise or the water blue?

 

 

I read this quote many years ago when I questioned my faith.

A little philosophy inclineth man’s mind to atheism,
but depth in philosophy bringeth men’s minds about to religion.
Francis Bacon (1561-1626)

I agree with this statement however when I first read it I remember it saying God instead of religion. I don’t believe in religion because the clergy tend influence the congregation to their way of thinking. I understand some people need the structure to keep them honest. My faith, however allows me to seek God in my heart and share the peace, love and comfort I find there with my fellow humans. My God is one of love, caring and peace. My God is not vengeful nor doesn’t He judge. He is forgiving because he knows we are not perfect.

 
The free will that man has gives me reason to believe.

23 thoughts on “I Believe Because of Faith ~ Reason to Believe

  1. Wonderfully written, Kim…
    You know me, I am an open book… I believe in looking inwards, finding the love, and sharing it..
    I don’t think we are very different, Kim…
    Lovely to know you..

  2. I BELIEVE

    I believe
    Through my experience

    Though my perception
    Of that experience

    Is in itself no more
    In the final end

    Than my faith
    That my perception

    Of my experience
    Is worthy of trust.

    1. That’s a beautiful explanation of your belief. As I said in my post whose reality, I know what I know. That’s what any of us can truly believe. I love when you give such great responses.

  3. THE BEST THING WRITTEN IN ANY BLOG I HAVE EVER READ IS THIS: The sun rises in the east sets in the west no matter where in the world you are. The moon is shadowed by the earth and can be seen throughout our planet. The water is clear but when the sky is blue so is the ocean. My blood is red and so is yours. If mine matches yours I can save your life and it doesn’t matter if our appearances, language or beliefs are different. We are human with the same needs. We all exist in this vast universe with many mysteries that we will never know the answer to.

      1. It’s a pleasure to like your work. Your thoughts are profound, and you weave your words in such a profound way–makes me so proud of you all the time, Kim.

  4. I’m with you on this & the religion vs faith thing.
    I have had my doubts – but- I’ve had several happenings that prove to me – that there is something greater than all of us out there.

  5. […] To believe… Nightingale AcresReason to Believe… I BELIEVE Riverdale’s Random Thoughts silentlyheardonceI Believe Because of Faith ~ Reason to Believe Poet’s CornerOut of my Cave Understanding and Embracing DiversityReason to Believe: […]

Comments are closed.