Cocktail ` Mind Reader

Google Image
Google Image

Cocktail ` Mind Reader
Who’s the last person you saw before reading this prompt? Whether it’s a family member, a coworker, or a total stranger, write a post about what that person is thinking right now.

She’s sitting across from me playing that game of Sudoku in front of her. Her glasses with the one arm are hanging off the tip of her wide nose. In a moment she’ll push them up and her fingers tips will rub her brow as she pretends to concentrates on her game. She’s quiet and intent, ignoring me as I read my tablet. But she can’t fool me she’s thinking of going to the Blarney Stone where she will have herself a cold glass of Bacardi Le’mon with seltzer and a twist of lime. A functional drunk they call her kind. She’s sitting there trying to keep her mind off her drink. But the little beads of sweat  popping out on her forehead tell a different story. She’s fighting the temptation that gnawing at her to get up from the kitchen table and get dress.

She’s thinking about the doctor appointment she had yesterday. Her cholesterol is good, her pressure is fine, her sugar was a bit low but her liver is okay. She does have a sinus infection and is on antibiotics. She thinks maybe she won’t take tonight’s dose and go on and have a drink. Well a few drinks, after all one would just be a waste of time. She frequents the Blarney Stone downtown because it’s close to a major shopping hub. She thinking we need some lemons, eggs and there aren’t any vegetables in the house. No she thinks, keep your ass in and take your antibiotics. She finishes her game of Sudoku and starts another.

The telephone rings, it’s her drinking buddy. He tells her he’ll be in the area and will stop at the bar. He asks her if  she’s going to be there. She tells him she was planning on staying in. I could hear her mind working, she’s thinking about stopping the antibiotics and going to the bar. She needs a few things. she’ll go out and stay in over the weekend. Yes she’s going. She closes her Sudoku book and puts her pencil in the holder. She glances at me and smiles and says out loud, “I think I’m going out.”

I smile back and think to myself it doesn’t take much to get a drunk to go to the bar.

11 thoughts on “Cocktail ` Mind Reader

  1. The last person I saw was a mother who just learned her son may have killed someone…over something stupid. Her pain moved me, and it stayed awhile as i thought when will it ever change? How so many are losing their children! Kim you are a very good writer…thanks for always making me think! Have a beautiful weekend Kimberly!

    1. I’m glad you think I’m a good writer and that what I write makes you think. That’s all I want to do with my writing. How terrible for that mother. I often think of the mothers when people commit these horric acts. We love our children unconditionally even when it hurts.

Comments are closed.