I know why the tree crack the concrete

Google Image
Google Image

free to taste jubilation
anger and fear held me hostage
commandeered my joy
filled my heart with tears
I was sentenced
to solitary confinement
mentally abused and verbally lashed
I swallowed myself into myself
longing to eradicate loneliness

I felt hope shine
through the storm
the hope that grows rainbows
I let go of  despair
and held on to bliss
attracted by my smile
then covered
by a shield of grace
dancing in glittering dust

serenaded by nature’s symphony
my arms reached for the heavens
my heart intoxicated
with the beat of love
floating weightless
on clouds of tranquility
drifting comfortable
with the rolling sea
sleeping on fallen leaves
where the roots spread
and cracked the concrete
because nature will always win

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria 11/09/14

14 thoughts on “I know why the tree crack the concrete

    1. I was inspired to right this poem when I went outside to get the daily paper. The crack from the roots of the tree in the yard was bigger. And it had me thinking that nothing can hold nature back from doing what she wants to do.

  1. SHO, Wonderful prose that exposes the BEAUTY, SPLENDOR, WISDOM of nature.

    I’m a farm girl, and my daddy told me and my siblings that if we ever want to know how to live our lives, observe nature, for it will always show us not man’s law, but God’s laws in action.

  2. Beautiful 🙂
    Thank You for Being such a Blessing in my Life. I Truly Appreciate Your Inspirations 🙂 Happy Friday and Have a Fantastic Week End~

Comments are closed.