Day By Day

I have to say my cup of gratitude runs over. I am so grateful to my family and friends who saw me through this surgery and my hospital stay. I hope I survive the recovery. I’ve been walking and doing what I’m supposed to. I’m eating not much but enough. I’m showering and doing the things I need to do in the bathroom. I’m still using oxygen because my breathing saturation drops to 78 and it should be at least 95. Sitting here at the computer I’m up to a 96 that’s great but that’s still with the oxygen on. I have my lung pillow pressed against me so when I cough and bring up all the blood and phlegm it doesn’t hurt as much.

My energy level is low but I’m tired of lying in the bed watching TV. I want to read and catch up with your blogs. I will stress myself out trying to catch up so I’m going to start reading from today and get to the days I’ve missed when I can. Thank you all for your well wishes and thoughts. It all meant a lot to me.

I hope my muse returns with something inspirational for tomorrow so I can continue with Nano Poblano.

62 thoughts on “Day By Day

  1. Hi dear Kim.
    So glad to see an update on how you are doing. I’ve been thinking about you & hoping that you are getting better & better each day.
    I’ve been busy, busy, busy – but – had to make my way here to drop you a note & let you know that I’m thinking of you & holding you in my prayers.
    xoxo

    1. Hi Rosy, This was more than I expected. Thought I would get home, go for a follow up and boom, bang healed. Nope hurt and more hurt. I stopped taking pain killers all day but by night I’m almost in tears. But I am not complaining it could have been worst.

      I wish life would slow down a little for you. You have been a busy young lady for months now. I think of you often. Hugs and love to you.

  2. I’m arriving late here and this is the first of your posts I’ve read, I think. I was just getting ready to lay down for my nap when the laptop called. I wish you nothing but peace and health. Naps are good, many times of the day. I must rest often and I have no cancer. It helps the body. I have been passing a book around to all my friends and some who have cancer. It’s called “Dying to be me” by Anita Moorjani. If you haven’t read it, you might like it. I’m always trying to earn my place here too. Even though I KNOW it’s unnecessary. We are here because we are loved and nothing else is necessary. Don’t worry about the the blogging community. They are the most caring bunch and all understand that you can’t catch up. I have some posts waiting from June & July. I’ll get there, eventually and some will just be let go of. You can only do what you can do. Everyone has been so kind, understanding and supportive. REST NOW. 🙂

    1. Thank you for your kind words. I look forward to getting to know you. I know about napping. I’ve been living with lupus since 2008. Life is wonderful and I plan on living long and happy.

  3. I’m sorry you are having to go through this and truly wish better days for you. My husband has been in remission for 7 years of what was originally classed a grade 4 brain tumour. It was downgraded a year ago and he has MRIs once a year. Where there was no hope, and all that … Have a nice Christmas. Ann

    1. That is wonderful news about your husband. My doctors who have seen me through this continually tell me I am very lucky. I believe them. I pray that I do something to make me worthy of this extended life. Merry Christmas to you too.

    1. Hi Carolyn, I expected to get back in the groove in no time. 😦 I realized I may be pushing myself too much. Tomorrow will only be 3 weeks. It took 8 after my last surgery. I have to stop beating myself up. 🙂 Hugs my friend.

  4. Dear Kim… please take your time.. no rush in catching up at all with mine.. As I am always on catch up with everyone’s blog..
    Its good to know you are getting stronger.. Wishing you well and a Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours and you remain firmly within my prayers xxxx Hugs Sue xxx

  5. Hey Kim, I just found out about your hospitalisation! I wish you speedy recovery but you need to rest. We’ll still be here when you get back. Please take as much rest as you need then you’ll have more strength to read and blog again. My love and prayers to you!
    Much love my friend.

  6. I am glad to hear there is improvement. You will surely survive this as you already are an inspiration.. please get as much rest as possible.

  7. Rest and take it easy, all though I know it’s hard for you to do. You must be bored. Just don’t over do my friend. We need you well and healthy. ❤

  8. You are very brave; also irrepressible. 🙂 You are reminding me of those toy clowns whose bottom half is a ball, so that however hard you knock them they came back to vertical.

  9. Rest helps speed the healing, and your recovery is more important than you catching up with blogs. I’m sure all of us bloggers will still be here for you, whether you read everything we’ve written or not! x

    1. Thanks Sarah for your kind words and thoughts. Sorry it took so long to respond. My body really wouldn’t allow me to do too much more than rest. I guess I’m not as young as I think I am and it’s taking longer than I thought to get back to myself.

      1. Yes, I’ve noticed that it takes longer for me to get better these days from any illness. I’ve had rather too many bouts of full-blown flu in the last few years, and am rather tired of them, but they’re nothing compared to what you’ve had to endure.

        1. Well the flu is nothing to sneeze at, no pun intended. Do you get the flu shot? I’ve gotten them for over 8 years now and haven’t had a cold or flu in years. I guess even though I’m year in thought my body is reminding me I’m not. :-/

          1. No, I don’t get the flu shot as, foolishly, I keep hoping that my immunity will improve without help! Recently, I’ve started taking some food-based rather than synthetic supplements and am beginning to feel the benefit energy-wise, so let’s hope this will mean I fight off the next germ that comes my way. As a child, my immunity was extra good, which proves that weakness creeps in with age.

  10. Glad to hear your 02 is up when in a sitting position, gives hope that it will continue to rise. Don’t rush on catching up with blogs they will be there waiting for when your ready. Your muse is telling you to rest and not worry about your writing at the moment. much love and prayers my friend.

    *http://about.me/lencarver *

Comments are closed.