“Surround yourself with people who are smarter than you.”

google-deepmind-artificial-intelligence

A couple of nights ago I was scrolling on twitter when I ran across a well-known person’s post that said:

 

“Surround yourself with people who are smarter than you.”

 

I didn’t respond but the words kept stirring and mixing in my head. Then it dawned on me, what scale measures the perimeters and degrees of smartness, excuse me intelligence? Is it the years of education you accumulate and the letters placed behind your name? Is it the years of living and accumulating experience that makes one wise? I do have a few years of accumulated experiences that I believe makes me adept in a wide range of subjects.  However there are no letters behind my name, yet I can hold a conversation with those with higher degrees of learning. I can also speak with someone with no more than a third grade education and learn something.

 

I saw this video of this young man who is about six years old. He was at a restaurant having breakfast with his mother and was curious about a homeless man he saw. After his mother explained the man situation  he asked his mother to feed the man. This young boy taught all the diners a lesson of caring, thoughtfulness and compassion. Did I learn something from this child? Yes. Would I be surrounded by him? Yes. Check out the film and see what he did to amaze the other patrons and let me know what you learned.

 

http://abc7.la/1S6mNFv

http://abc7.com/society/sweet-gesture-boys-request-feeds-homeless-man/730281/#videoplayer

 
Isn’t everyone smarter at something you are not? Don’t we all have field of expertise? Do we all not have a purpose? If we judge each other according to what they can provide us with we may lose an opportunity to grow if we over look people because we believe they have nothing to offer us. If we take people at face value and judge them by the letters behind their name we may be wasting our time because they may not have anything to offer us. If we over look the person who doesn’t speak the King’s language we may miss a precious jewel. If we shun people who has nothing we may find ourselves empty some day.

 
This person has made statements like surround yourself with people who can elevate you, people who have more than you. Isn’t that limiting your scoop of growth? Is that stoking your ego? You are assuming those who are smarter, richer or in a better position than you will allow you to surround them, that they are the only ones that can enlighten you.  I disagree and it doesn’t matter because I am not one you would surround yourself with.

 
I am no greater than any being that breaths on earth and no one is greater than me. I am a humble being destine to find the me, inside of me and free her to shine my light upon the world. Shouldn’t that be what we all aspire to do? To elevate each other not shun those we deem beneath us. That’s what made that statement linger in my head.

13 thoughts on ““Surround yourself with people who are smarter than you.”

  1. It does make one think, doesn’t it? I try to surround myself with all sorts of people, at all ages. Everyone has a story, everyone is good at something, but no one is good at everything. We all have room to learn, we just need to realize it.

  2. I think the statement was poorly made. It comes from the idea of finding good mentors to achieve your goals but doesn’t get to the heart of a good life. You have rephrased it quite well. I like to surround myself with kind people. That is my basic requirement. If you are not kind, you can hang around only to learn how to be. But I think we attract what we need to learn and what we are. My friends are all kind people and many are smarter in some area,. I’m smart in others. We are an interdependent society and the sooner more realize that the better. Where would we be if everyone was “too good” to pick up trash or care for the sick and infirmed. Great take on a poor sentence.

Comments are closed.