You, Me and I

This makes me cringe when someone says, “Take Mark and I to the movie.”  Totally wrong!!!  Read more to learn how to use Me & I correctly!!

It really gets me when people don’t know this simple rules of grammar. I don’t have a master and can always learn from others so I will school you on this little tid bit.

When you write a sentence like the title of this post, “The use of you and I”.  “I” is incorrect it should be “me“. The use of you and me, I know it’s an incomplete sentence alone. But, why you ask is it incorrect? Because if you drop the “you” in the sentence you wouldn’t say “the use of I”. You would say “the use of me”.  When you write a sentence and you’re not sure if you should use “me” or “I”. Drop the “I” or “me” from the sentence and if you can use the “I” alone then “I” is acceptable. If you can’t then you should use “me.”
The car raced passed Sherry and I. Wrong!

You wouldn’t say –“The car raced passed I.” You would say – ‘The car raced passed me.”
Sherry and I went to see Mrs. Smith. Correct!
Because you definitely won’t say, “me went to see Mrs. Smith.”
The book was very interesting to Betty and I. Is that the right or wrong usage? Figure it out for yourself.
I don’t know all the rules. But I learn as I go along. I appreciate tips and thank everyone who offers them. I mean there are so many like, “there” vs. “their”, “they” vs. “them”, “to” vs. “too” vs. “two”. Then (or should it be than), there is my all time favorite, “who” vs. “whom“. I still don’t understand that one.
I often make the mistake of constantly using the wrong tense when I write. Several people have pointed this out to me. Now I am conscious of it and try to correct myself.  When I read over my writings that I correct, it usually reads  better.  Thanks to all who (or is it whom) that have pointed this out to me.
The above sentence should be: “The book was very interesting to Betty and me.” You got that right.
If any of you have read this far and have a tip to help us all with our writing please share it.  If I made any grammatical errors in this post please point them out. After all I want to submit a perfect manuscript when I complete my novel.

http://www.learnersdictionary.com/qa/when-to-use-i-and-when-to-use-me

15 thoughts on “You, Me and I

  1. An excellent post. I think that all of us have our problem areas with grammar and still have plenty to learn. Reading your writing out loud helps, as it’s often easier to pick up a mistake if you can hear it. My favourite grammar book is “The Elements of Style” by Strunk & White. http://www.amazon.com/Elements-Style-Fourth-William-Strunk/dp/020530902X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1440242595&sr=1-1&keywords=the+elements+of+style It’s a most entertaining and informative read, and comes highly recommended by Stephen King in his book “On Writing”.

        1. When my daughter was a teenager she was on the phone with a friend who was having a grammar problem so they asked me. My daughter’s reasoning was my mother’s crazy she reads grammar books for fun.

      1. It’s useful and funny.
        (e.g. the “Title” section in the Wiki link I sent.) The book’s been around for several years so you can probably pick it up quite easily and cheaply. But then again you might have a decent local library service where you live?.

    1. Really there is little excuse for poor grammar these days since everything one needs to know on the subject is available on line, although OTOH first one has to know that there is an imminent mistake. 🙂

      1. True most educators teach write the way you speak. That leaves those with poor grammar to make loads of mistakes. I see the I vs. me error so much in professionals that it really irks me. The it’s v its, there v their doesn’t bother me that much. But it does bother me.

  2. The best tip I learned is to drop the other name or pronoun and see if it reads well. If you dropped the “Betty and” the pronoun can only be “me.” The other tip is if it is a comparative statement, it helps to add the word missing at the end….”better than I (can).” Otherwise, I am lost.

    1. I just added a link. You got it. If you can use I by itself it’s okay to say Mark and me. Like take Terry and I to the park. That isn’t right because you wouldn’t say take I to the park.

Comments are closed.