True Friend

This was Sylvie's FB avatar
This was Sylvie’s FB avatar

For Sylvie

my friend died last  night
never held her hand
or hugged her tight
we met many years ago
on a lupus site

my friend died last night
she supported my blog
from the beginning
my friend real and true
farmville was our game
our village circle grew

my friend died last night
never shared a meal
we met virtually, yet
our connection was real
she in Canada
me across the border

my friend died last night
she was dear to me
I felt her on-line presence
she’ll be sorely missed
always sweet and pleasant

my friend died last  night
never held her hand
or hugged her tight
we met many years ago
on a lupus site

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria 8/28/15

 

 

I would like to thank Lauren at Baydreamer   for tagging me in this fun photo challenge.

Here are the rules for the “Five Photos Five Stories” challenge: “Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge.
(Sporadic posting is alright if you’re unable to post each day.)

My second nomination for this challenge is Sue over at Sue  Dream Walker

39 thoughts on “True Friend

  1. A lovely tribute. I’m glad that you found out she’d passed on, rather than just wondering where she’d disappeared to, forever guessing and never knowing. It’s something that could easily happen in on-line communities. And you’re right about blogging friendships — the power of them is not to be underestimated.

  2. Dear Kim.. first its so sad when we lose someone whom we have shared the highs and lows with, Even if you never got to meet your friend Sylvie in person.. I know from the virtual friends I have gained here on WP we get to share a slice of their lives and feel part of it.. So my thoughts are with you and go out to Sylvie’s family..
    Second thank you so much for thinking about me in this challenge.. I have seen Lauren’s posts and others who are competing in this 5 day challenge.. I am always up for a challenge and have just the set of photo’s I think I will use for this Challenge. She says, ( as my PC refused to upload them the last time I tried from my Camera as the memory card reader was playing up ) 🙂
    So I will hopefully schedule them 😀

    And thirdly.. Your poem reflects the love you had for your friend and I am sure Sylvia will have be honoured for this lovely tribute.. As she now smiles on, knowing so much more now than we do.. 🙂
    Love and Blessings Kim…
    Sue xxx

    1. Thanks for your kind words Sue. I think the challenge is an easy one as we already inclued photos in our post.

      In my camera I have a 32G memory card. I though this way all my pictures will be in one place. They are but they take forever to upload on the computer.

      Sylvie told me she was having surgery at the end of June. My memory is so bad. I didn’t remember and failed to che k on her. I feel so bad. I was dealing with my own health issues but that is no excuse. She did have a lot of pain and I’m glad she doesn’t hurt any more.

      1. I am sure she is now out of pain Kim, and you were having your own major surgery too.. I am sure she will hear your thoughts.. We send them out and they are heard…So please do not feel so bad.. xxx Hugs Sue x

  3. So very sad.
    I too have lost a friend that I have never met.
    It’s something how people we never meet have such an impact on us & how we miss them when they pass on.
    May Silvie rest in peace.
    {Hugs}

Comments are closed.