The Future of Humanity

Google Image
Google Image

the soil gray and cracked
not far away a meadow
yellow and brown

 raging with flames

spreading

icebergs melting
seas receding
a planet dying
its people pleading
the powerful ignoring
seeking only financial gain

tornadoes invading
hurricanes raging
earthquakes destroying
little left to rebuild

imports from the poor
fruits and meat
pesticide eliminating
bees and bugs alike
steroids no fear
GMO’s to replace

taking pills
to cure man’s induced ills
the future of humanity
is dark and grim
screams of horror
deemed insane
locked in a cage
of corporate gain

forgotten and neglected
the madness must end
one thought, one soul
must connect link by link
to secure our future
rich, poor alike
or this planet
will be
dead, dead, dead

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria 9/1/15

I’ve completed the challenge that Lauren at Baydreamer nominated me for.  I would like to thank you and encourage those who aren’t following her to take a visit.  She writes beautiful poems that will touch your heart.

I know many of you like me don’t accept awards or participate in challenges.  This one however, is just doing what I do when I post so I gave it a try.  There isn’t any obligation to participate if I pass the challenge on to you.

Here are the rules for the “Five Photos Five Stories” challenge: “Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge.
(Sporadic posting is alright if you’re unable to post each day.)

My fifth and final nomination for this challenge is Polly over at Polly. Thank you to those who participated.

28 thoughts on “The Future of Humanity

  1. One step at a time. And yet the earth would cycle on it’s own.
    It is debatable on how much human’s are at fault.
    We have lived in a golden age, and now we are looking at more brass…

    Let us hope were ever humanity ends up, here or elsewhere in the universe we will have learned something… even just one thing; Kindness.

  2. A sober and important message. Keep waxing poetically. We must take better care of our planet beginning yesterday. If we don’t change more we will have too little fresh water and too much sea water which is more acidic.

  3. A voice in the wilderness, but not a solitary one, Kim. You are not alone in your sorrow and despair. May that lift the black clouds a little for you today and for the coming days. ❤

  4. Painful is a good descriptor. The demise of humanity as we know it has been a call of countless generations, yet it moves on. Who knows if and when the walls come tumbling down. Meanwhile, cheers to you meeting the challenge.

    1. I really am hope hopeful then my poems these last two days have expressed. I must be in a funk. I told my girlfriend the same thing that earth’s destruction​ has been coming since the beginning​ of time.

Comments are closed.