Final Words

TOMB

 

as I cross over the threshold of eternity . . .

I will savor the majestic beauty I’ve seen  . . .
on the mornings, I rose from nights of slumber  . . .

And give  grateful prayers . . .
I will bury the lies that came to tempt me  . . .
my laughter will quake jovially  . . .

because on this day  . . .

I lived my days as l lived  . . .

no tears of pain will I cry  . . .

there will be no regrets to eulogize  . . .

no promises made to be broken  . . .

no dreams to chase that won’t be found  . . .

no passionate love is lost, for it lives on  . . .

no more breaths, I’ve taken my last   . . .
and exhaled  my spirit into the atmosphere  . . .

remember the smiles I shared  . . .

my metaphysical thoughts and quandaries  . . .

laugh at the memory of my corny off-color jokes   . . .

remember my heart full of passion,  . . .

hoping on hope and the belief in humanity

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria

12/17/15

34 thoughts on “Final Words

  1. Since very young up until now I have had to remember the lost love of those who have gone before me…
    I would like to think that when my time comes – I too will be remembered – in some gentle way 🙂

  2. Indeed a beautiful poem with such real emotions…wishing you all the best this coming new year…looking forward to more fine words from you…peace be with you.

  3. Kim, we will remember the smiles and the passion, but stay a little longer. We need a few more corny jokes. Best wishes over the holidays. Keith

  4. Kimmy darling, we will all go one day but it is the how that becomes problematic.This is a favorite saying over here. You are still with us, God willing. 🙂

    May the peace, love and joy of the Season be yours my dear friend. 🙂

Comments are closed.