Weary Traveler

KWF Image
KWF Image

lead on my feet . . .
a path to follow . . .
a destination to reach . . .
energy drained . . .
but here, here I cannot stay . . .
I shuffle step by step . . .
with my limited breath . . .
fueled by dreams . . .
to travel to the . . .
land that was promised . . .
I hold on, I climb . . .
tears wet . . .
sweat stains . . .
my lungs constrict . . .
as I journey forward . . .
against the negative . . .
through the doubts . . .
I believe I will arrive . . .
without the pain . . .
without the fear . . .
with joy as my only hope . . .

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria

10/17/15

Whispers I Silently Heard Kindle version will be free from December 31, 2015 to January 4, 2016 on Kindle. Get your copy.

https://kdp.amazon.com/amazon-dp-action/us/bookshelf.marketplacelink/B0192KEITM

https://kdp.amazon.com/amazon-dp-action/uk/bookshelf.marketplacelink/B0192KEITM

cover for whispers feeling blue

23 thoughts on “Weary Traveler

  1. Puts to my mind that some who used to love to travel can no longer…
    A relative wants to see everyone, but the cost would be so much easier if they came…
    and yet now they refuse because mostly they cannot.

    One step at a time. I hope you rested well after your cold walk outside. Poor roses.

    1. I watched a movie last night, A Little Chaos with kate Winslet. The roses were beaten down by the elements but continued to grow because they adapt. They adapt because they don’t know they were beaten. They don’t know how to give up. Not exact words but the gist of what she said. This poem was a metaphorical travel through life. I am so tired most of my poems are about growing old. Though I’m not old my health makes me feel it.

      1. I can understand how you feel. When I speak to my mother who is not old either…But health. She just told me she had to go off meds because they were making her sicker. So she has to watch herself.

        1. It is a catch 22 for real. I guess it’s the will to live. That I have and I’m sure your mother does too. I tried taking myself off all medication and that’s seems to be why I’m having such a struggle these days,

          1. Unfortunately I am not in the place to monitor what the place where She is staying at does. I can only assume it is for the best. But then maybe she’ll forget if they start up again? I try not to get involved with what I have no control over.

  2. So often our days are like this… we have to either enjoy the travel or see the goal…

    it could be like this (by Karin Boye)

    IN MOTION

    The sated day is never first.
    The best day is a day of thirst.

    Yes, there is goal and meaning in our path –
    but it’s the way that is the labour’s worth.

    The best goal is a night-long rest,
    fire lit, and bread broken in haste.

    In places where one sleeps but once,
    sleep is secure, dreams full of songs.

    Strike camp, strike camp! The new day shows its light.
    Our great adventure has no end in sight.

  3. In the past several years, and especially the past several months, I’ve become increasingly aware that having something to look forward to, (whether a goal, a dream, and destination, an event, a visit), has a way of allowing us to run on fumes when we think we having nothing left. I constantly have to remind myself of how fortunate I am to be in my own set of circumstances, when there are so many out there living in desperation. Enjoyed the flow, and rhythm.

Comments are closed.