Depression Calling

Google Image
Google Image

sometimes you need a good cry . . .
because there is nothing else . . .
your hands, your hands are tied . . .
you believe in hope . . .
and you know that . . .
every pain you feel . . .
is temporary . . .
but when the pain comes . . .
there is nothing you can do . . .
but feed into it . . .
and let the tears fall . . .
where they may . . .
it’ll pass, it’ll pass, it’ll pass . . .
but the racing heart . . .
the heavy mind . . .
the hunger and rumble . . .
in your stomach reminds you . . .
of your fate and it’s dark . . .
and lonely . . .
ahhhh . . .
a life that you built . . .
not a dream that you had . . .
not even a nightmare you thought . . .
ohhhhhhh . . .
this pain . . .
and the pain, can only be cured . . .
by tears that will dry in the morning . . .
and maybe fly away . . .
on the tail of a blackbird . . .
and allow joy to return . . .
on the shoulders of a mourning dove . . .

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria
1/16/16

Mourning Dove, Cabin Lake Viewing Blinds, Deschutes National Forest, Near Fort Rock, Oregon
Mourning Dove, Cabin Lake Viewing Blinds, Deschutes National Forest, Near Fort Rock, Oregon

Remember I suffer from depression.  I wasn’t going to post this poem but it’s me and that’s what I’m sharing me. Please note the date this was written and today it was six days ago.  I should be over it. Hell, I’m over it as I’m creating this post.  I’ve quote my ex, many times. It was a feeling I was having at that time and feelings, they come and go.  I am always looking for the positive and embracing the good to feel the happiness.  Don’t feel sympathy for my sad emotions that spills out on Silently Heard. I’m good.

One more thing!!! I started new blog Hidden Temptation please follow as I share my writing and upcoming publishing process. As of now I will only be posting there once a week on Tuesdays.

12 thoughts on “Depression Calling

  1. Huge virtual hugs coming your way, dear Kim. That poem was so heart-wrenching, it brought tears to my eyes. There’s such a difference between general fed-up-ness and true depression, and your words conveyed the latter so completely. You’re such a fighter. Well done for bouncing back enough to write this post. xxxx

    1. Actually I recorded this poem while I was crying. I was thinking about putting it on the blog but some one might have me committed and give me medication to cure my depression. 🙂 Thanks for feeling the pain. But now feel the joy I always have somewhere waiting to shine.

      1. Sometimes such high doses of medication are prescribed, the psychiatrist might as well have hit the poor sufferer over the head with a hammer. Brain numbing stuff. It is good that you can cry. Some people are so numb with meds and in such a deep pit, that they can no longer find the energy to cry.

        1. I tried the meds. when I was diagnosed with lupus and was always in that dark place. The meds. made me feel like a zombie and that’s not cool. So I meditate when I fall into the darkness. There’s always light to be found. You could hear that darkness in my poems dated in 2008 and 2009. They were good but I could have been a psychiatrist entertainment trying to figure out how to help me. I always help myself out of my funk.

          1. See what inner strength you have, Kim. I can imagine that if you can master meditation and shut down all that inner chatter, it’s better than anything a psychiatrist could do for you. I’m no good at meditating, although my haiku writing is a form of meditation, in that I’m focusing on the small details of something beautiful or profound and thinking about nothing else while doing so.

Comments are closed.