Finding Me

Google Image
Google Image

I didn’t start dreaming . . .
until it was time to wake up . . .
I lived my days conforming . . .
to the mysterious world around me . . .
like a chameleon . . .
changing my colors . . .
to stripes that blended . . .

~0~

I slept walked through life . . .
I didn’t set goals . . .
I didn’t work toward anything . . .
I was in love with love . . .
never did I find love . . .
only illusions I created . . .
in my head . . .

~0~

never being me . . .
but trying to fit in . . .
to mingle into a society . . .
with a preconceived notion . . .
of who I was supposed to be. . .
I became lost inside myself . . .
I became a caged animal . . .
screaming and clawing to be set free . . .

~0~

bound to my past . . .
I was denied a future . . .
to share with a mate . . .
my soul was in darkness . . .
covered by a light that . . .
shined for no one . . .
but me . . .
the angels serenaded . . .

for only my ears to hear . . .

sprinkling my  dreams awake  . . .
with hope . . .

~0~
my soul in darkness . . .
kept me breathing . . .
until I finally let go of hope . . .
greed keeps me hanging on . . .
knowing my dreams . . .
wouldn’t be answered . . .
my hope ignored . . .
still I  have faith . . .
that my children will one day . . .
see me . . .
and one of my prayers . . .
will be answered . . .

~0~

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria
1/23/16

Stop by tomorrow and read Righteous Discrimination

One more thing!!! I started new blog Hidden Temptation please follow as I share my writing and upcoming publishing process. As of now I will only be posting there once a week on Tuesdays.

18 thoughts on “Finding Me

  1. I can sympathize with trying to fit in… I did that for a long time. But now I limit my concerns to those that I know respect me.
    Having many layers is a challenge. Some folks are open books…and others help to fill in the pages 😉

        1. I get them from Google. I create Google. I read that as long as I am not making money it won’t be an issue. So I take my chances. I would love to get rich from my writing but I am far from that. However you can get photos from free domain google it. They are free photos for bloggers.

  2. Thank you, Keith, Now I’m sleep walking out the door to a doctor appointment. I didn’t sleep a wink at all but I did get the start of 5 poems started during my insomnia. Have a wonderful day. I’m sure I’ll be sleeping pretty soon somewhere. 🙂

      1. Shouldn’t be a problem I canceled last week because I didn’t sleep then either. I try and nap but then afraid I’ll be up all night again. No problem when I don’t have to go out.

  3. Kim, this stanza is very powerful. Aristotle said we are creatures of habit. We do things without thinking, as if we are on autopilot.

    “I slept walked through life . . .
    I didn’t set goals . . .
    I didn’t work toward anything . . .
    I was in love with love . . .
    never did I find love . . .
    only illusions I created . . .
    in my head . . .”

    Well done, Keith

Comments are closed.