Butterfly

butterflyjar

I feel like a butterfly . . .
trapped in a mayonnaise jar . . .
four to six holes in the lid . . .

~0~

rays of sun sweating . . .
down clear plastic walls . . .
that use to be glass . . .
my favorite color . . .
a purple zinnia  . . .
sipping its dying nectar . . .

~0~

didn’t know I was a prisoner . . .
trapped and on display . . .
fluttering my colorful wings . . .

~0~

stress going nowhere . . .
I want to be free . . .
I want to fly . . .

~0~

how did I get sucked . . .
into a vacuum of fear . . .
chained in a glass jail . . .

~0~

screw off the lid . . .
release me . . .
from this loneliness . . .

~0~

I want to spread my wings . . .
and soar . . .
like butterflies do . . .
~0~

from flower to bush . . .
and bush to flower . . .
in the rays of the sun . . .
on the winds of a gentle breeze . . .

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria
1/30/16

Stop by tomorrow and read Another Year and celebrate me achieving another birthday.

One more thing!!! I started new blog Hidden Temptation please follow as I share my writing and upcoming publishing process. As of now I will only be posting there once a week on Tuesdays.

12 thoughts on “Butterfly

Comments are closed.