Mirror

Google Image
Google Image

she looked in the mirror and saw a stranger . . .
not really, she saw the shadows of a little girl . . .
who snuck out the yard . . .
had ice cream with a neighbor . . .
two houses down . . .
she fell, busted her knee, and lied . . .
the neighbor already told . . .

Teardrop1

she looked closer and saw a little girl . . .
just eleven years old . . .
who followed that boy . . .
he touched her in that place . . .
the place that belonged to her future husband . . .
he won a pleasure and she lost a treasure . . .

Teardrop1

she saw the reflection of a girl . . .
who ran wild, loose and fearless . . .
drinking, drugging and whoring free . . .

Teardrop1

she had a son mentally ill, bipolar they say . . .
sometimes schizophrenic . . .
medication didn’t keep him out of jail . . .
year after year . . .

Teardrop1

that was her in that mirror . . .
had a daughter, then another . . .
different daddies had all three  . . .
many others in between . . .
she searched for the right one . . .
the one to fill her daddy void . . .

Teardrop1

she saw that face in the mirror . . .
didn’t look like her anymore . . .
moon face, full of steroids . . .
mustache shadow, long chin hairs . . .
missing more teeth than she has . . .
eyes dark, swollen with last night tears . . .

Teardrop1

yea that’s her, I can tell . . .
she still smiles on this journey . . .
can’t change the  life she lived . . .
she just keeps going . . .
some roads she traveled . . .
were full of joy . . .
some are just memories to savor . . .

Teardrop1

yea that’s that girl . . .
she’s an old lady now. . .
with old lady hands . . .
old lady wrinkles . . .
old lady tender steps . . .
old lady pains . . .
that  mirror captured a lifetime
saving reflections . . .

remembering those times . .  .

good and bad . . .
before dementia claims them all . . .

Teardrop1

Teardrop1

6463116._SX540_

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria
1/30/16

Stop by tomorrow and read This is Why

One more thing!!! I started new blog Hidden Temptation please follow as I share my writing and upcoming publishing process. As of now I will only be posting there once a week on Tuesdays.

16 thoughts on “Mirror

  1. Glass Looking…

    Mirrors can be reflective of what has been…who we were, where we have sprouted from –
    But the mirror can not tell what the future holds – continue seeking joy and be forever bold.
    Regrets are like fishing nets not everything held deserves to be kept –
    Everyone has different shoes, if any at all, and carpets where secrets are swept…
    Keep those close who offer helping hands with them joyfully understand
    Life has worth, ever drop, every tear, every memory held dear –
    Regrets are like fishing nets not everything held deserves to be kept –
    Let eyes to linger lovingly, let the laugh lines to grow, – continue seeking joy and be forever bold.

    (for Kim) ©JP/dh

    1. Thank you for your kind words. I always say I’m a work in progress. I have let a lot go but occasionally I’m haunted by the past. I try not to regret because my past is what made me the person I am. I like myself most of the time. 🙂

  2. That darned boy! I wonder if he hadn’t stolen that treasure, whether her life would have taken a completely different course. Most of us accumulate plenty of “what-ifs” through our lives.
    I remember one day apologising to my son about something I’d done which might have had negative consequences for him later in life, and he replied, “Don’t ever beat yourself up about this. You’re a wonderful mother, and if you hadn’t made that choice back then, I wouldn’t have the friends I have now, nor my dog, nor…” And so the list went on. He has always been a wise soul.

  3. Kim, this is truly sensational and powerful. It happens much too often, where the little girl’s dreams are stolen away. Thanks, Keith

Comments are closed.