How Do I Feel?

CaseyRichardsonExcitementPose_revision
Google Image

I couldn’t sleep . . .
I tossed and turned . . .
too excited to sleep . . .
thirteen in 1973 . . .
I wore a corsage of . . .
bubble gum, flowers, glitter . . .
I felt the same . . .

I tossed and turned . . .
excited, sleep eluded me . . .
sweet 16 in 1976 . . .
my boyfriend was cool . . .
lost the picture of the party . . .
I remember who was there . . .
I felt the same . . .

I tossed and turned . . .
going to be 18 . . .
legal back in 1978
I was a mama . . .
had responsibilities . . .
pee the bed that night . . .
but still I felt the same . . .

I tossed and turned . . .
I was going to be 25 . . .
a friend gave me a quarter . . .
I put it in a video game . . .
I felt no different in 1985 either . . .

I tossed and turned . . .
in 1995 going to be 35 . . .
oh! a surprise party! . . .
no one showed . . .
except liquor and cocaine . . .
I passed out but I felt the same

tossed and turned . . .
going to be 45 . . .
big party in the bar . . .
for me and the super bowl . . .
2005 and I felt same . . .

last night I tossed and turned . . .
wish I forgot it was 2016 . . .
and turning 56 . . .
but damn if I don’t feel . . .
like I always did in 1973 . . .

a little heavier . . .
a bit slower . . .
daily a fist full of medication . . .
I know happiness . . .
spending the day alone . . .
but one thing for sure . . .
I feel like I did . . .
in 1973 . . .

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria
2/3/16

Just to remind you I’ve been scheduling my post. I wrote this after realizing every year someone asks me, how I feel at whatever age I was turning. I thought about it.  My body has changed, I hope I grew a little wiser but all in all, I feel like the same person.  My birthday was wonderful  I wasn’t really alone. I got lots of love here on WordPress and some beautiful sentiments on Facebook. The ladies I live with were home and we did what we usually do.  As you are reading this on Sunday 2/7 I am with my beloved daughters and grandchildren.  I’m happy and at peace. 

Stop by tomorrow and read Unchained

One more thing!!! I started new blog Hidden Temptation please follow as I share my writing and upcoming publishing process. As of now I will only be posting there once a week on Tuesdays.

21 thoughts on “How Do I Feel?

    1. Physically no, not at all. But the way I think . . .maybe a little wiser, I hope 🙂 but I’m still the same person. I read some of the writing I wrote years ago and I still have the mindset I have today. If that makes any sense.

  1. So pleased you are surrounded by the love of daughters and grandchildren. and Feeling the same You you have always been, wiser, more knowledgeable, but , feeling the same inside..

    Have a very wonderful Day Kim xxx

Comments are closed.