Exposure

Google Image
Google Image

I shiver from awareness . . .
weighed down . . .
by the cloak of layers . . .
a heavy burden . . .

my steps are labored . . .
my perception veiled . . .
my hat removed . . .
to see clearly . . .
to hear more . . .

exposing my nose . . .
my mouth and neck . . .
smelling the crisp air . . .
tasting the moisture . . .
turning in circumference . . .

discarding gloves, coat and boots . . .
much lighter, freer . . .
discard my sweater . . .
step out my pants . . .
wiggle off my socks . . .

I feel the cold . . .
I feel it not . . .
I am the cold . . .

undergarments removed . . .
naked and exposed . . .
fierce winter elements . . .
released from confinement . . .
from this mental prison . . .

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria
2/4/16

Stop by tomorrow and read Searching for Now

One more thing!!! I started new blog Hidden Temptation please follow as I share my writing and upcoming publishing process. As of now I will only be posting there on Tuesdays and now on Thursdays too.

16 thoughts on “Exposure

  1. This reminds me of all the ‘Polar Plunges’ for charity.
    I was out this morning clearing away a dusting of snow – real feel temp -9F I think I’ll stay dressed 😉

    1. Whoa!! -9 We are at 23F. Tomorrow it’s suppose to drop to 19F. Overnight I see they predict 5 degrees. Cold for us for sure. I like the chill so I can bundle up and later crawl under the covers and read or watch a good movie. Stay warm.

          1. A tad chillier… not as many buildings to stop the wind. I was thinking of going out… If not today, I’ll have to tomorrow… and then there is more funny white stuff to fall from the sky Monday.

Comments are closed.