Your Worth

 

Google Image
Google Image

it was broken . . .
snapped in two . . .
mangled, crushed and destroyed . . .
unappreciated and discarded . . .
forgotten and left . . .
in the rain to rust . . .

»«

it was expensive  . . .
desired,  must have . . .
just a cheap mark off . . .
made in China . . .
lead paint plastic pieces . . .
urgently cared for  . . .
stepped on kicked . . .
unappreciated . . .

»«

the world’s blind eyes . . .  
may ignore its  worth . . .
that is fine, who cares . . .
the measure of his being . . .
is weighed by his appreciation . . .
of his own self-worth . . .

 

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria

01/31/16

Stop by tomorrow and read Winter Passion

One more thing!!! I started new blog Hidden Temptation please follow as I share my writing and upcoming publishing process. As of now I will only be posting there on Tuesdays and now on Thursdays too.

37 thoughts on “Your Worth

  1. Self worth… that is a biggie for sure.
    We often let others command, demand and confiscate personal emotions.
    And then once we get even slightly comfortable with who we are, what we have become… the others, some gawk.
    To be happy with who we are in the present is a blessing. 🙂

          1. I had family members behind my back say I wasn’t capable…or offer support. That hurts. And other family members not understanding why I don’t trust those who felt I was less than good (at achieving things).

            There is only so much one can let slide. And then one just has to move forward without aide.

              1. I had affection, I suppose. But there were just too many times that encouragement wasn’t there. One time in High School I had straight A’s for four semesters and got a B for the year. Just because the teacher was in a different political mind than my parents – they wouldn’t fight to change it. Another time when I was a senior I could have gotten into a special program, but my parents didn’t speak for me and a Jr class member got the spot. And now I have family that wonders why (even after I feel I have given enough) that I don’t give more.

              2. Back in our time our parents thought the teachers were right so they didn’t fight teacher decisions like they do now. I don’t understand how you can get A’s and end up with a B as a final grade. Something was wrong there.

              3. That is what I was told. Live with the results because one doesn’t always get what they want. Which most often in those early years wasn’t much. But I guess enough. Because it was when I was about ten or so that I started writing…

  2. You often write things I feel but have not been able to articulate. The issue of worth and the apropos pearl. Irony and truth. Worth is frittered away by wrong versions , true worth a personal possession , the pearl within. You just made this alive.

  3. I haven’t read one of your lovely poems for a long time; still as good as ever. I like the way that you explore ‘value’ and ‘worth’ as a concept. It’s something that I think society has all wrong, ‘worth’. Strangely we all know, deep down inside, that we are all of equal worth, but many of us do not choose to indulge that humane intuition. We all also know that ‘material things’ are worth less than good feelings, but again many of us don’t give ‘outward’ credence to that piece of wisdom. Your very well chosen and brilliantly arranged words deftly sum up our ‘throw away’ society and the way we ‘discard’ things and people, as you suggest, all too easily. Good to see you are still writing such evocative and moving poetry. Peace.

    1. It is so good to see you or hear from you. Thank you for always having kind words to say of my writing. I hope all is well with you and that you will be around more often. Peace to you my brother.

      1. Yes, that frequently seems to be the case. School, church and family seek to undermine our attempts to build a solid foundation of self-knowledge. Most people I have met either under- or overvalue themselves. Not to say that I do not continue to struggle with this dilemma. Haven’t given up though and have no intention to do so. 🙂

Comments are closed.