My Dear, Dear Friend

DSC_0421
k.w. floria 2/13/16

my heart is breaking with yours . . .
but I believe in your strength . . .
for you have walked through fire . . .
and goodness has rained upon you . . .
special souls will forever touch our lives . . .
filling spots we didn’t know were empty . . .
stocking the void with moments of memories . . .
silly laughter bursting with tears of happiness . . .
challenges that demanded understanding and loyalty . . .
belief and trust testing our patience . . .
that never fails or proves weak . . .
momentous occasions sprinkling around us . . .
sparks that touches our lives in good times and bad . . .
our friends, lovers, children, grandchildren . . .
nurturing that family bond with love and affection . . .
sharing those precious moments of joy . . .
leaning on each other . . .
when sickness and death arrives . . .
lifting us up, when we felt like there is no way up . . .
we live life with death walking beside us . . .
we will not fear the unknown but cherish the love . . .
the love we felt, we shared and know is true . . .
I know your heart feels empty . . .
I know there are no words that will comfort . . .
you through your mourning . . .
through the pain and sadness . . .
but you my sister . . .
are the rock to lead and lift . . .
you have been tested and proven worthy . . .
I know you may feel lost and empty . . .
but that empty space . . .
is filled with beautiful memories . . .
you the matriarch . . .
holding your family together . . .
the spirit of your mother . . .
and the spirits of your sisters . . .
are living inside you . . .
you will never be alone . . .
they will always be by your side . . .
through every challenge . . .
every joy . . .
and you will keep them alive . . .
with the memories you saved . . .
when those tears dry . . .
hold your head high . . .
and feed every son, daughter and grandchild . . .
every niece and nephew . . .
their legacy . . .
I love you, my sister . . .

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria
2/12/16

On February 12, 2016 my best friend from high school lost her last sister.  Her mother died from cancer when she was in her 20’s. She lost one sister to sickle cell, another to cancer and her last sister died from lupus complications.

Stop by tomorrow and read Weeping Me

One more thing!!! I started new blog Hidden Temptation please follow as I share my writing and upcoming publishing process. As of now I will only be posting there on Tuesdays and now on Thursdays too.

31 thoughts on “My Dear, Dear Friend

  1. May the memories of those we have loved shine on endlessly as the stars in the nights sky.

    I too know of loss at a young age, beloved people who we keep alive with our cherished memories.
    My sympathies.

  2. This brought tears to my eyes dear Kim.. Such a heartfelt poem for your friend.. a beautiful tribute of words that hold your heart…. Love and Blessings Have a Peaceful weekend.. and my thoughts go out to your friend.. Love and Warm hugs your way Kim… Love Sue xxx

  3. I can’t like this but I like your beautiful words to your friend. With a friend like you she has support and love, though I shall never understand why some suffer so much, disproportionately so

  4. Kim, this is absolutely beautiful. It is such a lovely tribute to your sister or friend. You are the kind of friend I would want on my side. Thanks, Keith

Comments are closed.