Searching for the Real

Google Images
Google Images

when I meditated this morning . . .
I focused on what was real . . .
the air that filled my lungs . . .
the bird that flew past my window . . .
the squirrels crawling around the ceiling . . .
was it all real . . .

???

as these thoughts were spinning . . .
turning and marinating in my brain . . .
helping to keep away my fears . . .
that were haunting me with the stress . . .
I felt and saw in my mind’s eye . . .
was it real . . .

???

I saw some pretty . . .
delicate flowers in a bed
soft pinks, powder blues . . .
emerald leaves . . .
the scent of spring filled me . . .
it felt real . . .

???

I was standing beside a cloth . . .
like a floral sheet . . .
a breeze lifted the edges . . .
the cloth floated up and up . . .
free in the gentle breeze . . .
it drifted gently down . . .
covering my shoulders . . .
warming me from the chill
that squirmed through my bones . . .
it felt real . . .

???

did it matter . . .
I was here now . . .
I am who I am . . .
my joy was somewhere . . .
deep inside me . . .
next to my noble soul . . .
was it real

???

I smiled today . . .
I did yesterday too . . .
I cried in the morning . . .
I cried yesterday too . . .
it felt real

???

but . . .

were they real smiles . . .
were they real tears . . .
or an illusion . . .
as I’m believing . . .
my life to be . . .

just tell me is it real???

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria
3/3/16

Stop by tomorrow and read Here She Is

Have you been over to check out my new blog Hidden Temptation?  I only post there twice a week. Come see what’s doing there.

22 thoughts on “Searching for the Real

      1. It’s easy to feel disconnected, especially when we are on one of our worse day and things get right on top of us.

        1. I haven’t felt good in over a year. After the lung cancer I had a COPD flare and a lupus flare. I’ve been on high steriods and gained over 20 pounds which makes me more tired and lazy.

          1. Steroids can seriously mess with both your body and your mind. I refused when I was offered steroids to help with my back.

  1. Sometimes it seems quite difficult to figure out what is real and what is just a dream…perhaps it really doesn’t matter all that much…I’ve seen those who seem to live in a dream be much happier than those living in conformed reality. 🙂

  2. Kim, if you were crying and smiling, then it seems real to me. We live through both, so we have to walk through hell on occasion and sing with the Angels on others. Keep it real. Keith

  3. It is as real as we wish it to be Kim.. Loved the way your thoughts played around with all of those senses and images.. 🙂 Wishing you a Wonderful Peaceful Sunday my friend.. Nice to be back to see your smile… And is it real? you bet it is.. Enjoy xxx

    1. Thank you so much sue, your words are always uplifting. You know I pre-schedule my post. I have a poem Time in the Attic of the Mind scheduled for the 10th. Please come back to read I am proud of it. Enjoy your Sunday as well. ❤

Comments are closed.