A World Where You No Longer Breath

Google Image
Google Image

how am I living in a world . . .
where you no longer breathe? . . .
your friendship was genuine . . .
from the first day we met. . .
you were a mentor. . .
a sister, a confidante . . .

Emily Dickinson . . .
you stolen from the library . . .
your name scribbled in the cover. . .
cherished many years by me. . .

lips like Angeline Jolie. . .
eyes light brown. . .
long beautiful hair to match. . .
until crack claimed your life. . .

you sold your body. . .
smoked while carrying your babies. . .
you loved your husband . . .
and he loved you. . .

when your brother died. . .
I felt your anger and pain. . .
and again when your other brother. . .
took your kids. . .

your heart was always pure. . .
we didn’t see each other often
but when we did. . .
you put your hands on my cheeks. . .
kiss me on the lips . . .
look deep in my eyes. . .
tell me how beautiful I was. . .
then quickly remind me you weren’t a faggot. . .

now there won’t be any more random run ins. . .
I won’t see your beautiful smile. . .
or hear your unconditional love. . .
how do I live in a world. . .
where you no longer breathe?. . .
your friendship will live. . .
forever in my soul. . .

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria
4/28/15

This poem was written last year while remembering a friend.  I use to run in to her every so often and thought how I hadn’t seen her in a while then remember I visited her body in the casket. It’s true cherish, love, and talk with the ones you love today because tomorrow really isn’t promised.

19 thoughts on “A World Where You No Longer Breath

  1. Everything about this affects me. The love is so endless. It’s one of the most powerful stories of friendship and love. I felt like crying. Gorgeous depiction

Comments are closed.