Warriors

the trumpet sounds . . .
the heaven opens . . .
light fills the sky . . .
roll call . . .
soldiers of peace . . .
of justice . . .
of love . . .
gather in line . . .
~o~
marching these might lands . . .
adorn in armors of smiles . . .
welding hugs of comfort . . .
their defense, compassion . . .
mighty their resolve . . .
warriors of humanity . . .
hearts coated in understanding . . .
~o~
marching through rivers of blood . . .
through jungles of racism . . .
over mountains of envy . . .
deserts burning with hate . . .
battles begin with mother’s tears . . .
battles end with innocent blood . . .
~o~
flags of freedom, flags of hope flap . . .
flags of hubris pride burn . . .
and choke the lambs . . .
that blindly follow . . .
the weary shepherd . . .
~o~
the overseer in his lazy boy . . .
puffing cheap cigars . . .
eating steroid chicken . . .
and pesticide vegetables . . .
watching reality shows . . .
while dying popping pills . . .
that may cause heart disease . . .
diarrhea and or constipation . . .
blue fingers, no erection . . .
sterilization and even death . . .
~o~
paying life insurance premiums . . .
because the dead warriors are marching . . .
to save humanity from humanity . . .

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria
4/16/15

The above poem is included in my book Pages of Pain which in honor of Mother’s Day and lupus Awareness Month is available free on kindle until Tuesday 2/11/16. Please get a copy. Thanks for your support.

20 thoughts on “Warriors

  1. These words caught my heart
    “marching through rivers of blood . . .through jungles of racism . . .mountains of envy . . .
    deserts burning with hate . . .battles begin with mother’s tears . . .battles end with innocent blood . .

    Too much innocent blood has soaked the Earth..
    thought provoking poem Kim..

  2. Very powerful words, I do hope you heed some of the requests to repost this again, I think the message should echo until it is heeded and heard.

  3. sorry in all of that I did not remember to say the most important thing which is I really loved this piece xo

      1. I hope today is a better day and I want you to know I’m thinking about you my friend.

  4. I tried replying to your other msg but it wouldn’t even let me on my computer (argh!!!!) so I think WP in general is having some issues. Anyway cutting and pasting here as it said it didn’t go through I wrote you back on HANGOUTS btw – I thought it was only me too but I got some emails saying nope lots of peeps having that problem I just took it off I’m going to wait a while then try again maybe they’ll have ironed out the kinks by then? Very frustrating isn’t it?

  5. they pay in blood
    we walk in an over instant karma mud
    no legal wars since 1941
    police action
    a republic
    now an empire
    you know?

  6. Kim, well stated. Could you repeat this one on Memorial Day? War is old men talking and young men and women dying. The cause seems to get lost in the death and destruction. Corruption leads to disenfranchisement which leads to terrorists being welcome and the beat goes on. The army of peace and compassion is valiant, but insufficient to salve over the wounds of war. And, even they become targets although the come in peace with humility, food, medicine, aid. They are the blessed and need far more help than we give them. Keith

  7. Poignant as always, Kim. I’m reminded; during the illness I recently suffered some of the medication’s side effects read – possible death! Holy mackerel… what man does to man is madness, to be sure.
    I listened to slpmartin’s video whilst writing – great sentiments, indeed.
    BTW – I just downloaded your book of poems – Pages of Pain – to my Kindle. However, Kim, I love to have a ‘real’ book to hold as well as having the convenience of Kindle; so I ordered a paper copy too. Can’t wait to get it! In the meantime, time allowing, I’ll start with the Kindle version. Well done to you.. 🙂

Comments are closed.