Us Verse Lupus

Google Image
Google Image

every morning I wake . . .
ready for the challenge. . .
I slip on my gloves of life. . .
and fight for the gift of living. . .

the challenger is lupus. . .
a dirty opponent. . .
with a blinding punch. . .
that knocks me out. . .
on any giving day. . .

as I lay taking the count. . .
I hear myself cheer. . .
willing me to stand. . .
shake off the knock out. . .
but I just want to lay there. . .
and take the TKO loss. . .

lupus my dirty opponent. . .
with a sneaky punch. . .
doesn’t fight fair. . .
using under handed tricks. . .
I never see coming. . .

I won’t throw in the towel. . .
I’ll stand on shaky legs. . .
forgetting to bob and weave. . .
even wobble as I continue. . .

my heart pulsates rapidly. . .
my lungs gasps for air. . .
my skin red, black, and blue. . .
but I fight, I fight. . .
alone or together because. . .
it’s me, it’s us verse lupus. . .

It’s my battle my resolve. . .
they don’t care. . .
they don’t want to hear. . .
so I fight. . .
I fight alone. . .

©Kimberly Wilhelmina Floria 7/16

Thanks for visiting come back tomorrow and read my new poem The Entitled Underprivileged

30 thoughts on “Us Verse Lupus

  1. I do hear and care. My friend who is like a sister has battled lupus all of her adult life. I won’t even start with the number of joint replacements and medicines and weight gain and constant pain. As a close witness to this, I know some of what you are going through, but I can’t say “I understand” because I have never gone through it. My friend is definitely the strongest and bravest person I know. I think you must be, too, no matter how down and weak you feel at times.

      1. It is also held among Buddhists (among others) that a soul decides to enter this specific life as part of a learning/developing process. I am not saying this is necessarily the whole truth, but it may be at least worth considering. 🙂 After all, what certainty do we have beyond our interpretation of our experiences such as they are?

              1. I believe it is important to learn to distinguish who is at the microphone at any specific moment. Thereby I generally succeed in avoiding thinking/acting ways that more sensible me’s don’t regret later. It took me a few years to get this. If I can shorten your journey than my belief in my purpose in living will be strengthened. ❤

  2. you will live!
    you want to live
    my heart gave me a start
    failed
    and then again
    failed
    i fell
    i cried
    i tried
    to let my spirt
    go to god
    but it wasnt the time
    and then the chimes
    in the wind
    were a kindness
    to me
    far beyond
    what any person
    could do for me
    love
    for life
    yes it is
    for now!

Comments are closed.